Mancora and Tumbes


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Tumbes
July 15th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Writing here from Tumbes, in the very north of Peru - a border city with Ecuador with real character and busy streets. Apparently getting robbed is a real possiblilty here although I have found the people here to be the most friendly in Peru so far! Its kinda like being a minor celebrity, everyone wants to talk to the "gringo", so its pretty fun.

We´re approaching the Peruvian Independence Day here so the festivities have been getting into swing with parades and music in the main Plaza de Armas which my hostel backs onto to. Pretty noisy here at night although nothing compared to Mancora ...

The mangroves in the National Park, are extremely interesting and getting a boat ride on the rivers really makes you feel like you are in the jungle. Lots of wildlife, although most of it is retty elusive, especially with the noisy members of the group in tow! Have visited the crocodile sanctuary near Puerto Pizarro and the imaginatively named Bird Island which was full of Frigate birds(?). Large birds with a very red under-beak which the males blow up. You can get really close to the island so they are all flying over
The cramped minibus
18 of us in here from Mancora to Tumbes, it broke down every half-hour. The bags were on top - I was glad I was at the back, I could see any bags falling onto the road behind us ...your head - thankfully I wasn´t guanoed!

Spend much of my time in the North in Mancora, a beach resort with fantastic weather and a great beach. Unfortunately the hostel and the surrounding village was really terrible and I was glad to leave. Having a hostel on the beach has benefits, although hearing rave music from the bars on the beach all night is terrible. The less said about sanitation here the better - suffice to say I got ill here with some kind of intestinal parasite and I was not at all surprised. It would not have been my choice of destination to spend 10 days in Peru!

Never mind, an 18-hour bus journey back to Lima to look forward to!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The cramped minibusThe cramped minibus
The cramped minibus

18 of us in here from Mancora to Tumbes, it broke down every half-hour. The bags were on top - I was glad I was at the back, I could see any bags falling onto the road behind us ...
Hitching a liftHitching a lift
Hitching a lift

We were almost going to have to do this!
TarzanTarzan
Tarzan

Or maybe just one of the boatmen showing us how strong the mangroves were. All around the shallows the mud was more than knee high.
The crocodile sanctuaryThe crocodile sanctuary
The crocodile sanctuary

They used to be wild in the mangroves and around the Tumbes river.
Bird IslandBird Island
Bird Island

An imaginative name for the island, its true ... frigate Birds are everywhere on the small island, but on no other islands.


20th July 2007

hi laz brother
hey i am larissas friend hope u r having a gr8 time laz is missing u!!!!! seen ure blog and uve got some good photos!!!! :) i know i`m crazy ure not my friend and i am writing on ure blog!!!!!!! haha
20th July 2007

yo bruv!
I am SO shocked that you've seen Harry Potter before me!!! I'm personally offended (although I'm seeing it in less than 4 hours!!) Bet I'll read the book before you though! Comes out tomorrow (VERY excited here!! I think Harry's gonna die!) But anyhoo I hope you're still recovering nicely and having a great time! Loving your photos (have you seen mine on photobucket??). Talking of which, whos your ginger mate on the hitchhiker photo- gigi (my crazy friend with the other comment =p) wanted 2 know. (v. cheesy of course, but looked like that v. long, v. straight, v. desserted road from the Mr Bean movie!!!) But keep having fun (even though we ALL think you've been gone too long and need to come home!!!) Love, Lari xxxxxx
23rd July 2007

I thought the school mini bus was bad...
You looked awefuly comfortable in that cosey bus there! It's wet and misrible in Derby so it's not all bad in Puru eh? Cya soon, Rob P.S. me and Sawar wiped the floor with Jimmy and Pete at badminton so you and james can go cry!!!

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb