Mancora


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Piura » Máncora
August 14th 2011
Published: August 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This is to be a (relativly) short entry as I did as I intended to in Mancora - very little!

I updated my vitamin D, by enjoying far too many lazy days around the pool, the beach, and of course in the sea. Most of the time, I body-boarded in the sea, which was as much fun now at 22, as it was when I was the same size as the board itself - which must have been pretty young - oh what it is to feel old! Anyway, I did enjoy that, as the waves were pretty good in Mancora.
So good infact I went surfing. And it (kinda) worked! I was crusing down green waves, a Beach Boys soundtrack in the back of my mind - actually one of my wipeouts was because I was consentrating on remembering the lyrics, not so smooth. The one thing that I had forgotten about surfing though, is that it is blooming hard work. A days surfing later and I could barely rise of my weary legs to cqatch one last wave in. Indeed, the next day, my being spread eagled at the poolside felt entierly justified!

The other thing that I would like to mention about Mancora, which I know I did in a previous post, butI want to reiterate the food - in the end the place I patronized most was a bbq place, where you got a huge tuna steak (HUGE - see pic), chips, rice and an avocado side salad, along with a passion fruit smoothie, all for 10 soles - 1pound80. Uh-mazing.

I stayed far too long in this idyllic place, but felt compelled to set off to the final destination on my tour - Iquitos, the jungle city of the Amazon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb