Iquitos: land of birth death decay cylce in action!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Loreto » Iquitos
November 6th 2013
Published: November 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey all,

I nearly wept as I left Taraoto, i have come to love it so much! The skies were weeping though... so much they nearly cancelled my flight. I made it, however and am enscoonced at Casa de Clarita in Padre Cocha. It is wonderful living so close to nature while I am here. There are screens on most of the windows but no glass so you hear everything, including the dogs and the roosters at 4 am. We haul water into the house from a spring in the yard. The water table is very high here. We do boil it and I love that Clare keeps a thermos of hot water at the ready for tea and washing. The toile is a very nice outhouse with buckets of water for flushing...never put TP in the toilet in Peru! The shower house is in a nice and sunny spot. Angain, more buckets. Yesterday I hennaed my hair, did laundry in wash tubs and took a lovely three bucket shower.

Claire and I eat vegetarian. There is no refrigeration so we only get fresh food that we can eat in a timely fashion. We can get eggs and potatos and some prepackaged foods at a neighbors mini store. i Have not had any problems with the food. It has been a month now with no sugar and I have had to take in my clothes as my skirts want to fall off!! love it!

Today I am visiting a local Art school. I met one of the professors and turns out another is a friend of a friend. excellent! I am working on a painting when the electricity comes on at night. (6pm-10pm). otherwise it is go go go.

Yesterday I went on a plant walk with a local man and Claire as interpreter. We will go meet the local curendera this weekend. I still havent heard from a couple of folks I am hoping to visit who have medicinal gardens and a permaculter farm. One guy is a medicine maker and speaks english!

I am well and coming home early. Iquitos is too overwhelming, really, and I have gotten what I came for mostly. It is very expensive here as it is an "island" and everyhting comes in on a boat or by plane. so my resources are going fast! it is a good thing I a returing early. being poor here is no good.

sorry no photos this time. more to come soon.

wih love and light....

Advertisement



7th November 2013

hi beautiful
Hey-just a hello to tell you I'm thinking of you,missing you and hoping you are finding what you need and want. Peace and love-K

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb