In a hammock in Tarapoto


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » San Martín » Tarapoto
October 31st 2013
Published: November 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well, when I signed up to come to Peru, I was on a mission to enhance my life with knowledge of medicinal plants so I can be a better medicine woman and human being. To strip away that old story and be able to be present for clients and my loved ones. I knew I needed to be closer to the healing plants of the Amazon region to be able absorb their messages and bring that information back with for my practice.

I thought this process would need months to accomplish so I booked my stay for two months. What hera happened in actuality is that in the past two weeks I have taken in so much information and shifted so strongly that I need to assimilate before I can learn more. At this juncture, more is not nesesarily better.

What do I mean? I mean I am sitting in a hammock in Tarapoto after two weeks of intense ego busting, soul searching, high jungle walking, council and medicinal plant viewing and ingesting. I am in recovery and integration mode. Being quiet and listening to a new(for me) way of being. I learned so much! heart wide open and pieces of "my story" on the floor at my feet.

For the first week we were isolated in individual tambos on a restricted diets, ingesting a master plant used by Amazonian Shaman called Bobinsana. This plant is a feminine plant that clears energy and opens the heart. It also creates intense dreams. The whole week my dreams were peopled only with Peruvian natives and I remembered them vividly. Already my dream state has changed back to a more vague presence.

The second week was steeped in shamanic journeying with a Highly qualified Maestro with years of training. I won't go into it,but suffice to say I can hear plants and see them in a whole new way.

At the retreat center there was an amazing man who comes from a long tradition of vegetalistos (healers who use plants). Lucho would take Kellee and I around the high jungle property and show us plants that are helpful to the healers of the region. the owners of the land for the last 15 years have been reforresting it with healing plants and trees. I adore the high jungle!

So much more to share.. Learned so much that my head and heart are about to burst! It was fabulous to have only four of us working with the Maestro. We all learned so much. I am so grateful to Kellee for seeing my potential and nurturing it. She led this horse to water, and boy! Did I drink! I will never be able to thank her enough for her inviting me to join this group and I look forward to our continuing work together.

On Saturday it's back to Iquitos to tromp around the low jungle, find those mythic pink dolphins that have lured people into the river and meet those people who are meant to cross my path with information. I sense a meeting that will be pivotal to my life. Also on the list is to check out the gardens at Anaconda Cosmica, the permaculture Paititi institute and meet with Ron who makes healing brews. then I am coming home to begin again.

With great love and gratitude, Robin


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



7th November 2013

Peru
What a wonderful journey!! Can't wait for our visit - Come home soon. Hugs, Mom

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb