What? There's brown bread?


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 20th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

June 18, 2012

Ok. So, the day was average (just like any other day really). I was in two classroom with the very little children. They were completely out of control today. I've tried a few classroom management techniques, but nothing really seems to be working. They don't ever stay in their seats, which has been really hard for me. I just gave up on trying to be fun with them, so I've started being stern. It's working so far. I think that this might be part of the problem, actually. They need someone to be more stern with them and put some boundaries on everything. We'll see how well this works. If it doesn't, I'll have to be "cutsie" with them. (Buuuuuh. I hate being cutsie.)

One really funny thing did happen during my language center class. We were talking about different types of food. The topic of bread came up, specifically whole wheat bread. The teacher described it as brown bread that sometimes has seeds in it and that regular bread is just white (which is what everyone here eats). As soon as the teacher said "brown bread" this boy did a double take and had this look of "what do you mean BROWN bread?!" It made my day. Then I had to explain to this group that this is a huge fad in the US right now. We eat whole wheat everything-- bread, noodles, crackers, etc. They were so taken aback. Jaja. Silly little ninos.

The day ended just like any other-- soup for dinner and a quick drive home. (The girls and I have had a few talks about the independence issue. We are very lucky that Sr. Daniel is taking such good care of us, but we still would like a little independence to walk to and from school everyday instead of being driven. We'll see how it goes. He'll probably be a little less protective once we've been here for awhile.)

Welp, here's to loving my whole wheat bread!

Monique

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb