That was sassy.


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 15th 2012
Published: June 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

June 13, 2012

Hello again!

Sorry I haven't written in a few days! So, on Wednesday we started out the day with totally warm water! YAY! But then the electricity went out. Buuuh. Last night, Sr. Daniel and a few other gentlemen talked it through and the reason that the warm water wasn't working was becuase there wasn't enough pressure. (Apparently the warmth of the water depends on the pressure in the tank on the roof.) Then it was off to breakfast for the day and to school. I had some students today on the first floor (so first grade equivalency) who were rambunctious as ever! I couldn't believe it. They were in the Moises (Moses) classroom. Once again, the difference between the school system here and the school system in the United States has proven to be SO different. The students were (again) getting up in the middle of class to ask questions, to pet me (yes, pet), to ask to use the restroom, etc. There is no understanding of staying seated and raising hands for the younger students. It's annoying, but they have such a laid back lifestyle that it makes sense.

After calsses, we headed to lunch, and we went back to school for the language classes. I was switched for the rest of the week to teach Advanced 6 and Basic 2 with Sofia. Both groups were just great! In the Advanced 6 group there are four students, but they all really seem to understand the material. One boy in particular makes it evident that he wants to learn English. He tries so hard, and it shows. The other students are in the class because they are privileged, so their parents signed them up to come. They don't really try, but they still know the material. One of these students today was very sassy. I asked him what the answer to a question was and HOW he knew it was the answer. He said, "Because I can read." jajajajjajaja. Well OK, Sassy Pants! I was taken aback a little at first by his attitude, but it was a pretty funny situation.

Then the Basic 2 class came in, and I led part of it. This class didn't have any funny moments, but I loved that this class has students in it ranging in age from 12-24. I am so impressed that there are mid-20's people enrolled in this class. It says so much about their desire and dedication to learning. There are two 24 year olds, and they are (by far!) the best students in the class. The both made the effort to ask me questions about myself after I was introduced. I cannot rave enough about these two. I'm so happy that they're here and that they want to learn! :D

Stay tuned for more sassiness from the students!

Monique

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.4kb