My journey to South America


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I started my exhausted trip from India to Peru at the 1st of June in the night. I think I reached the record of the amount of flights in 48 hours.I will write them down just for the statistics ...

First an 8 hours flight from Chennai to Frankfurt and from there another flight to Brussels. My dear Kristine was there to pick me up and to bring me to my parents. It was a really strange experience: cold, expensive, white people, too clean... but it was great to see my family and some of my best friends back. My mom had ordered a " welcome home" cake and she made her lovely spaghetti for us. Really, never will a spaghetti taste as great as it did at that day! I used the evening to share my experiences and to listen to all the stories of my family and friends. It was great, but short as well, cause the next day was I expected to pick up the tickets for my next trip. My dad, Katrien and lovely Thomas were there to say goodbye to Tante An...

I took my flight back to Frankfurt where I had to wait for more than 7 hours for the next flight with Varig to Brasil.I tried all the perfumes, free samples and a tasty Mac Chicken with view at the landingslane... I arrived in Brasil at 5 o´clock in the morning. When I had passed the border and looked up at the screen to check my next flight I noticed that there was a flight cancelled. I remember that I was thinking "poor people", but than I figured out that it was my flight! Merde... I faced the unorganised and chaotic way of thinking and working in South America. A little bird in the motorblock was the cause of lots of frustration... A stewardess of Varig tried to put everybody on other flights, but me and a few other passengers had bad luck ( or not) to stay one night in Sao Paulo. It became a great day full of luxery, relaxing and enjoying... I got a room on the 7th floor of the 15floor hotel with "oh my god" the luxery of a queen, and that after 7 months of India where I learned to lower my standards to "a room with western style toilet and a shower that works"...I met
my trip from Frankfurt to Sao Paulo with Varigmy trip from Frankfurt to Sao Paulo with Varigmy trip from Frankfurt to Sao Paulo with Varig

it was an overnight flight, and I was lucky to have two seats to sleep in, so I could lay down... at 3am they woke me up for a delicious flightmeal...
Andreas, a boy from Sweden, who was in the same situation. We took the opportunity to discover the city in the afternoon... Take it from me: really strange, almost like New York, as far as I know from the movies...
The next morning( after my 5th shower and drying my hair with the luxurious dryer twice) we were expected in the airport to take our last flight to our final destination, Lima. And the flight compagny offered us a seat in Busisnessclass! I love Varig!
I had the opportunity to make great picture of the mountains of Brasil, Bolivia and Peru because the weather was excellent...

Around 1pm local time, I arrived in Lima, where Marco was waiting for me and I don´t have to tell you how great it was to see him back after almost 4 months!

The next weeks we will spend in Peru before we are going to Ecuador...

from india to belgium
from belgium to Frankfurt -
Frankfurt - Sao Paulo -
Sao paulo - Lima


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

from Belgium, right?from Belgium, right?
from Belgium, right?

we ended our sightseeing in one of the pubs in the main avenida and we tried some of the Brasilian beers... I still prefer our own ones...ne goeie leffe, cheers!
my five star hotel in Sao Paulomy five star hotel in Sao Paulo
my five star hotel in Sao Paulo

this was the main hall of the hotel, with on the first floor a swimming pool, fitnessroom and conferencerooms...dinner, lunch and breakfastbuffets and a free phonecall of 3 minutes offered by Varig to warn relatives of the delay...


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb