The End of an Era


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
May 1st 2006
Published: May 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had a great couple of days in Cusco visiting friends and just hanging out. Got another Tattoo to remember where my heart really belongs, in peru. I got the 6pm bus from Cusco to Lima on the 28th. I was so looking forward to my last bus journey in South America going off with out a hitch. That was too much to ask. At (pm the bus came to a stop beside the road a few vehilces passed then returned. Nobody knew what was going on. I was so tired and not really able to remain consciouse for to long. I understood enough of what the bus guy said, the road was blocked and it would be about 12 hours before we would be able to go anywhere. It was a long cold night curled up in a ball wedged between bus seats. I got out of the bus around 6:30 am to take a look. the road was completely blocked off by a huge landslide. the rocks that had fallen were larger than the cars stopped beside them. A bunch of locals were trying to move them with tree branches and ropes. A local lady looked at me and said in english " there Inca's". by 9:30am the first vehicle had rolled across the make shift road. All the drit and rock that had fallen from the cliff and slid down the riverbank was now serving as a road. Nobody seemed to sure how secure it really was so our driver got us to walk across ahead of the bus. I thought that was a great idea to avoid a swim. We were only abot 12 hours behind schedule now. Not to worry our bus driver was able make up two of those lost ours by not braking on the corners, chickens and goats. I arrived in Lima at 2 am 10 hours after I was supposed to meet girl in Lima. She was not to happy about the day lost. I found my way to the Flying Dog hostel, A great place to stay in Lima if you are looking. I rang the buzzer a few times and nobody showed up. I was starting to think I would have to look around for something else in the midle of the night. The night guy showed up just as I turned to leave, I was very happy about that. They had a bed for me. I went out to find a bite, yes everything is still open in Lima at 2 am.
I got up in the morning had breakfast at the restuarant down stairs, included in the price of the hostel. Then met up with the woman and went for a walk along the coast. I was supposed to meet up with a friend of a friend there also. He called to arrange a meeting that afternoon. He turned out to be a big wig with a restaurant chain in Peru. We were taken to a very posh country club and treated to and amazing lunch of Anticoucho (cow hearts and chicken livers) followed by BBQ chicken, fries and salid. It was incredible. I went from a traveling bus bum to King in a day. After that we wandered around the native arts market, saw a movie and walked around some more.

My last day I spent the morning hanging out with the guy that worked nights at the Hostel, John, a really cool guy moved to Lima from Iquitos. He was very interested in photography and just an all around friendly guy. In the afternoon I met up with my lady and we spent some time on the beach watching the surfers and the kids play in the water. we went for a bite and a coffee then sat on the cliff over looking the beach to watch the sunset. I was really sad to see my last South American sunset for awhile. It was great to have someone to share it with how ever. It was time to head for the airport so we grabed my stuff from the hostel jumped in a cab and headed to the airport. we said our good teary eyed byes and I was off, to a place I call home even though I know it really isn't home. All my travels and I still don't know where home truly is, maybe my heart belongs to the wind and my soul to the sea, a nomad I be.

This sadly is the end of my journey but there will be many many more to come as I have the bug bad.
I will be getting My photos back in a couple days and on to my website as fast as I can.

Cheers all and long live South America in my heart. It has been a blast and to all the amazing people I met along the way "I love you man"

Advertisement



5th May 2006

We survived the Inca Trail!!!
Hey Brian! Good to hear you made it home safely...hope Montana´s was good! I know how deprived of good steak you have been (yeah right you scammer!!) Your comments about not knowing where home is almost made me cry...I know what you mean. You should be poet! Inca Trail was phenomenal! But it hurt! We basically did the 4 day hike in 3 days...ouch! Our group was awesome..already met up twice with them (had breakie at Jacks) and the tour just ended yesterday. The weather and everything was perfect. Loved it! Wish you were here to share a 3 litre juice with but we will see you soon! Julie and Fred PS: The walking sticks were life savers!
6th May 2006

Sad too
Hi Brian: Your note made me sad your journey is over too. Safe travels home and I look forward to seeing your photos.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb