¡Saludos de Lima!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

El MetroEl MetroEl Metro

The local grocery store, just a few blocks away from my house.
Greeting from Lima! I have returned to Lima for the first time since August of 2006. It is wonderful to be back here again for many reasons. One being to practice my Spanish. After all, it is my profession, and I would be doing a huge disservice to my students if I didn't sharpen my skills. Secondly, to rekindle old friendships. I made some valuable friendships here. We drank, we danced, we sang, we talked.

Another reason for returning was for some unfinished business. In a country so geographically and culturally rich, you can't see everything in one, two, three or even four visits. Peru is a country that doesn't necessarily realize it's worth. There are some that understand how valuable it is, and there are those who have chosen to exploit their own countrymen and their own country. Essentially, this happens everywhere because politics and money become more important than decency and moderation. Oh dear, I've digressed...back to my initial point. Basically, I wanted to see more of this beautiful country.

This is my second day, and I have only done some walking and taken one bus ride. The reason I bring up a bus ride is because it is a unique experience. I won't really try to describe it. It's just different. I have taken a few pictures of some local places near my residence. They are not anything special whatsoever.

Ok, I've added several pictures since I published what I wrote above. Yesterday I took a taxi to the downtown area. I got out at the Plaza San Martín. It's a relatively large and open plaza, and it was full of people, mostly men. Little did I know that it is a hot spot for local homosexuals and transvestites (the local word for them is "transvestys"). So I decided to sit and within 2 minutes an older gentleman (late 50s) sat a few feet from and started speaking to me in English. I immediately stood up and got ready to walk away. I answered a couple of his questions and then a younger guy (about my age) sat between the older guy and where I was standing. In that moment I jetted. The guy followed me for about a minutes, but I ducked into a store and I didn't see him.

I was a little shaken up and kind of pissed off, and I
ChiflesChiflesChifles

This is my favorite Peruvian snack. They're fried plantain chips. No cholesterol!
decided to walk to the Plaza de Armas. This is much larger and more open than La Plaza San Martín. There are less weirdos too. So I sat on the steps of the cathedral (the one in the pictures), and within 10 minutes or so, two young Peruvians sat next to me. One girl and one guy. The girls said "Hi", and I responded in Spanish. She started asking me questions in Spanish, and I was extremely standoffish and hesitant due to what had just happened about an hour before that. We talked for a bit, and they seemed okay. Then, they stopped another guy who seemed like a "gringo", and it turned out that he was from California. So all four of us walked around for several hours, and we ended up eating ceviche, which is a must. If you travel to Lima, especially downtown Lima, BE CAREFUL. If you feel uncomfortable, just get the hell out. Don't worry about being mean or discourteous. Just leave. Either way, I had a blast with the people that I met that day. It is very possible to meet interesting and genuine people here in Lima. It's better to travel in a group rather than alone. This I am learning on a daily basis. Well, have a wonderful day all! Stay classy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Pollo Ti Pa KayPollo Ti Pa Kay
Pollo Ti Pa Kay

My first chifa meal in a few years. Twas delightful and filling.
La MarinaLa Marina
La Marina

La Marina is a main road in Lima that runs right by my house.
Big Mike's SandwichesBig Mike's Sandwiches
Big Mike's Sandwiches

I've never eaten here, but I just like the name "Miguelon", which means "Big Mike". "No hay como él."
El Cerro de San CristóbalEl Cerro de San Cristóbal
El Cerro de San Cristóbal

Saint Christopher Hill
ChifaChifa
Chifa

"Chifas" are local Chinese restaurants. They are generally reasonably priced and the food is perty nice too.


8th June 2009

Ahhhhh Muy Bueno, muchacho!
I just watched Nacho Libre last night...... and here you are virtually living it! Stay safe dude. Don't eat any rats this time either, jk*. David Edward *but seriously
8th June 2009

Glad you made it safely! Sounds like you have a lot to accomplish on this trip. Good luck buddy. We miss you already in the Fort! Anne

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0548s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb