The Sick Chair


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Mom! Hope you and Dad are doing well in Miami. Hey, so if I were you I probably wouldnt read this next entry, just because its going to be really really BORING. I can think of plenty of other things more interesting to read than this entry--like the directions on the back of a shampoo bottle or the manual to the DVD player. I mean, wow, this is so boring that Im almost falling asleep just writing it so, please, save yourself the trouble and tune in tomorrow...

For the rest of you: Yesterday, I decided to give the Peruvian health care system a try. The primary reason for this is that I needed something to write about in the blog. But also it seemed like a good time given that I had a searing pain in my lower stomach, extreme nausea, high fever, chills, and bodyaches. I had diagnosed myself with the dreaded Peruvian stomach virus that is apparently going around here and given myself 3 days to live. But my program director, after finding out that I do not have an MD attached to my name, decided to bring the REAL doctor around to the house to investigate. Yup, how cool is that? Here, the doctor comes to you! I was so excited--it just seems so charming and old-fashioned to get a home visit from the doctor. She comes and proceeds to ask me the most embarrassing questions about my digestive tract complete with hand gestures (damn that language barrier!) while my roommate giggled in the corner. Then she listened to my tummy with a stethoscope! How fun is this?

Apparently, I do not have the dreaded Peruvian stomach virus. Instead, I think it is something like exhaustion, which given my schedule these last few weeks is not all that surprising, I suppose. And I am happy to report that after a day in bed, a lot of lemon-lime Gatorade, and 4 different kinds of pills (Peruvians apparently take A LOT of pills), I am feeling great! Im taking it easy for today as well, but I think I am cured, so nobody worry! Oh, the worst thing about being sick here is sick people have to sit in a special chair at the dinner table--I call it, THE SICK CHAIR. This is so the cook knows who is sick and then she serves you a big bowl of chicken noodle soup and crackers--nothing else. This is going to be my diet for the next two days. Yummm.

So sorry there is nothing else fun to report. Hopefully, tomorrow I will be able to graduate from The Sick Chair and will be up to more crazy antics around the city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb