Peru, here I come!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Peruvian toiletPeruvian toiletPeruvian toilet

don't throw paper or toilet into the toilet! The result could be disastrous!
This was a rather uneventful travelling day. I was scheduled to fly Edmonton->Vancouver->Toronto->Lima with around 1hr stopovers. I was quite surprised that there were no major problems with Air Canada, but I didn´t check my bags just in case.

I arrived in Lima´s Jorge Chavez International Airport around 0100hr but didn´t actually get to the hotel until closer to 0200hr. Along the way the driver pointed out multiple times in broken English a fried chicken place called Norky´s, apparently better than KFC. At the hotel reception I was told that my room was occupied by someone who was feeling sick and chose to stay an extra day and no other rooms were available. What the %·%&/! Like Jerry Seinfeld once said ¨you know how to take a reservation, but just don´t know how to hold the reservation¨. I was too tired to protest and the hotel offered to put me up at a different hotel not too far away.

I knew before coming that many Peruvian toilets aren´t equipped to handle anything other than human excrement and everything else goes into a wastebasket. My hotel has a sign by the toilet to that regard; I didn´t feel like experimenting and potentially upsetting hotel staff.

Time to bed:0300hr.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb