Lima centre


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
January 20th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided to visit Limas town centre. So after leaving the Hoastel I hailed a cab, and I was on my way. The cab driver was very talkative and I tried my best with increadibly basic spanish to undertand what he was telling me. Unfortunatly most of the time I responded with a node of the head and "si". Unfortunatly this series of "si´s" was taking me into a rather uncomfartable subject, of which only occured to me when the driver stopped talking noded and made the international hand signal for injecting one self with heroin. I quickly responded with a series of loud "nadas".

I quickly jumped out at one of the main plazas, (St Martin) which is nice although there isn´t much there. I then made my way to the main plaza in Lima (Plaza de Armas) through jiron de la union which is the main high street. Plaza de armas was very busy but has a lot of nice colonial buildings. The Presidentil Palacio is situated there and there was a large police/miltary precence (armored vehicals with machine guns ect). This didn´t seem to stop the thousands of tourists from enjoying their cafes. I finished off the afternoon with a visit to the Catedral de Lima.

There a was a party at the Hoastel that evening which was a really good laugh. When then left and went down to Barranco, which wasn´t so nice. In fact it was horrible, so I left after 20min and returned to the party at the hoastel.

Advertisement



31st January 2007

Parteeeei
Hey mate, glad to see you made it there safely and are rockin' it up in the Hostel. Will be keeping an eye on your blog to see what you're up to. Have fun!
2nd February 2007

Smacking it up.
Was he imitating the actual injecting heroin into the veins in his arms or the Shaney boy style; smacking your arm to get your veins up? Thanks for sending me the link to your blog. I was talking about it to a friend who has done a lot of travelling and he says Lima is probably the worst place you can go. So the only way is up!

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb