It begins


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima
January 18th 2007
Published: January 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, Ive just arrived in Lima´after a horrible 13 hour flight. Justin was right Air Iberia generaly do suck. The air hostesses were n´t very helpfull and generaly quite snooty. But I guees who wouldn´t be during a 13 hour flight.

Its mid summer here and despite arriving at 8:00 pm its still quite muggy.
After having grabed my stuff I immediatlly jump into a taxi and I´m off.

The airport is situated to the North of Lima and in quite a rough area. In fact there is no mistaking Peru as being part of the third world.

Anyway, I´m on my way to the hostel and I´m scared for my life. Everybody talks about the way people in bangkok drive as being a little on the "I{ve got a death wish" side, but bloody hell theyre nutters here. The way they drive down the motorway is best described as being similar to the start of a F1 grand prix. Everybody is weeving and diving between cars, inchs away from each other. If a gap appears then it is quickly filled by a taxi or bus. (60% of vehicals here seem to be taxis or buses) The lines on the road marking out the lanes are ignored and the car indicator hasnt quite made it to this part of the world yet. In fact everybody here drives with one hand on the wheel and the other perminantly hovering over the car horn.

I finally reach the hostel and its situated in the miraflores. This is the upmarket area of Lima and the home to most of the tourests. The area just seems to have been taken over by every american fastfood chain. In fact as I write I can see the largest Mcdonalds Ive ever´seen (60-70 metres long and with two floors.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 82; dbt: 0.124s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb