I'm Back! January 2017


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima
January 6th 2017
Published: January 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It's great to be back in Peru! I left home December 31st, I flew out of Birmingham, Alabama on Delta with connections in Atlanta changing airlines in Mexico city to Avianca. Bad mistake, when making plans, I was assured my baggage would be transferred without incident in Mexico city, WRONG. Terminal 1 is currently the largest airport terminal in the Americas and the fourth largest in the world, with expansion in progress it will be the largest in the world. Here's the deal, baggage is taken off and you must retrieve and get to your next airline (if your traveling on same airline, they transfer). Not only do you have to claim your baggage, you must go through customs with all baggage in tow and go through security check points along the way. So, here I am in Mexico city airport, speaking VERY little Spanish and trying to find Avianca airlines, it's miles away, with escalators, moving sidewalks, trains lugging two big suitcases, carry-on and computer bag. Two hour layover and almost missed my flight, dropping suitcases down escalators, tripping people, you get the picture, crazy American. Now, the reason I tell you this, it could have been much easier. After getting through customs,I could have looked around to see several men in uniform with hand trucks. This a service provided by the airport to help you get across the airport, Free with a hand out when you arrive. No matter what Peru is worth the hassle of travel, come to Peru! Avoid going through Mexico, Delta flies direct from Atlanta to Lima. I saved a couple hundred dollars for my trip through Mexico.

I arrived in Lima about 8:30 P.M. New Years eve. Mi Peruvian Amigo, Martin picked me up and we dropped my luggage at my apartment in Miraflores and went to his apartment about 5 blocks away for fruta ensalada prepared by his aunt. Around 11:00 the fireworks started and start they did. Lima is huge, with Miraflores being one of several districts. Lima and metro has about 14 million people (compare to 8 million in New York city). Wow! the most spectacular fireworks I'v ever witnessed. The sky was filled with exploding color in all directions, sounded like world war three. Martin took me back to my apartment and I tried to sleep. It was a 14 or 15 hour travel day and I was exhausted, explosions until three in the morning. HAPPY NEW YEAR!

The next morning, January 1, 2017 mi amigo Ian from Ohio picked me up and we went to his house in Via Maria, another district in Lima, a 40 minute drive. If you have never been to a third world country the drive would amaze you. After leaving Miraflores (one of the most affluent, beautiful cities in the world) things change rapidly. Traffic like you have never witnessed, motorcycles, motorcars, buses, trucks and vehicles like you have never seen jockeying to pass, turn or God knows what. A real experience! People living in astute poverty, shacks hanging from the cliffs, mixed with modern buildings. People work for 200, 300 soles a month (less than $100 American).

Ian is a retired motorcycle racer from Ohio. He owns the apartment I rent plus two others, a pizzeria in Via Maria and opening one in Paracus. Paracus is about 125 miles south from Lima, a beautiful, scenic drive down the Pan American highway, Pacific ocean to the west most of the way. Ian is married to Veronica and has a 5 year old son, Michael. The last time I was here Michael was a baby. Had a great day walking around Via Maria with Ian and Michael. Lots of people in the street, park and hanging in doorways celebrating the new year. A poor village but great people with good attitudes of life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

MichaelMichael
Michael

Ian and Veronica's son


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb