Hola from Lima


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima
January 14th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

Thanks so much again for all of your texts and e-mails. Very much appreciated!!

I said goodbye to Ayacucho at the unearthly hour of 5am this morning. My flight from Ayacucho to Lima was scheduled to leave at 7am, and you have to be at the airport a full two hours before your flight per AeroCondor terms and conditions. So - I set my alarm for 4.15am and checked out of the hotel at 4.45am. The hotel bus arrived to take myself and some other guests to the airport just on 5am.

Vicki - I managed to get there with everything I needed, hope you are impressed!! When I arrived at the airport the only check in (of the three that they actually have at Ayacucho airport) was AeroCondor. LC Busre and Andes checked in all of their passengers immediately. I bagged a very hard seat and read my book. Now, most of you who have either stayed or holidayed with me know that the morning is not my best time!! Imagine how crabby I was when the AeroCoondor check in finally opened at 6.15am to check passengers on board for the 7am flight to Lima!! I was seriously upset as I could have had another hour and a bit in my bed!!

In Lima airport, whilst waiting for luggage I had a conversation with a lovely Dutch girl who now lives and works in Ayacucho with street children. Shealo new Gil and Chantal very well as she had been involved in the operation of Los Gorriones (I guess the business side) for approx 3 months at one point.

The flight left at 7.20am and I arrived to chaos in Lima. There was a strike in central Lima by doctors and medical staff over pay and conditions. There were police and militia everywhere with v large guns!! Good job I was planning to head to my hotel room (same hotel as when I arrived) and crash immediately to make up for lost zzzzz´s!!

Oh - after I crashed for a while when I arrived, I got up and took a shower before heading to MIMDES. Guess what? In typical Peruvian fashion, the shower was stone cold after about 2mins!! Much more what I´m used to in Peru and good to see that it can happen in even the poshest hotels!!

I had my meeting with MIMDES at 2pm in the afternoon. Was surprised to find that it isn´t in fact a posh swanky office, but rather a small shabby building full of v nice people. I had a great meeting with a v nice English speaking lady who outlined everything in relation to my ongoing personal plans. She seemed v impressed that I had taken the initiative to meet with her whilst in Lima, and also that I had spoken to the relevant people in Ayacucho (a big thank you again Gil). Nancy spoke excellent English (she had lived in the States when young) which was great as my Spanish is nowhere near that level. She It was great to be able to speak to someone on the Peruvian side face to face (both in Ayacucho and in Lima), rather than over the phone, and have all of my questions answered. I took copious amounts of notes to make sure that I didn´t miss anything and asked absolutely loads of questions. I now have a list as long as my arms of extra things I can do when I get home to speed things up a little!!

Dinner was at a wee place round the corner from the hotel. Was nice, but not a patch on Gringo Plaza!! The waitress is studying English and was desperate to have a conversation in English, whilt I´m desperate to speak as much as I can in Spanish!!

Now back at my hotel and planning to have a v early night as I had a v early start.

Haven´t taken any photos today as I´m afraid Lima just doesn´t inspire me!! The Vine Trust Group arrives tomorrow, so I will move across to the accomodation they have booked in oh so posh Miraflores, cloe to the beach. We then have a full itinerary of lots of places to go (can´t wait to get into the jungle!!).

Spoke to my mum tonight, and was glad to hear that all is well at home.

Now into the last 10 days of my trip - don´t know where time has gone.

Ciao for now amigos.

Lesley x



Advertisement



15th January 2008

God speed to Ica
Hi, Glad you arrived safe and sound, if a little grumpy about the check-in arrangements. I guess you'll be heading off down the Pan Am to Ica soon. Hope it's an interesting visit - will be interested to hear how things are in that area after the earthquake. I wonder if that awful hotel in Chincha Alta is still there (remember? trucks parked in the 'swimming pool', insomniac rooster, no towels and unmentionables found under the bed). Maybe you will spot a condor this time - having slept through my sighting. ¡Que tengas suerte! Vicki
16th January 2008

hianethere lesleyjane so much for the wonders of moder technology i press one thing on this so and so thing and get everything but what i want. I know I wants dont get ; Anyways caught up with your Lima blog and airport chaos - never a dull moment. Everything here just fine your poxy boys are still poxy and Chuckie tells me every day how pissed off he is at you and Galway boy is just Galway. Finally got the glass shelf for the unit so will be getting Grans glass all washed and stacked. Having problems trying to type on this and keep Chuckie from waltzing all over the keys. Rose and I looking forward to Saturday for our girls day out as our Rangers day out was cancelled on Sunday due to the very verywet weather. Not much more happening, Glad you gave the money to Gil and it went to an excellent cause. Everybody in the west of Scotland and Wisconsin asking for you. Joan Watson is home at the moment and doing fine. Love and miss you. Take care and remember what I said about swimming and paddling. Good luck with the Blue rinse and pearl brigade !!! Take care. Got my rah rah pompoms and Fran and Anna outfit all ready for Glasgow Airport. Love you. Mum, Sparky, Albertz and the poxy twosome Chuckie and Galway
16th January 2008

Hi there
Hi Lesley, Glad your trip is going well - I've been looking at your photos which are great, keep them coming. But no pics of Lima? - it must be a terribly dull place to stop you and your camera. Anyway, see you soon, Ian (and Jo)

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb