Adventure Begins... in the Many Airports


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
October 16th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

16/10/09 - 6:10 AM Lima-Time (4:10a at home)

It wasn’t until I landed in Lima did I really feel as though an adventure had begun… Navigating the airport on my own gave me a surge of independence. I felt so ‘seasoned’ traipsing around a foreign airport filled with foreign language. Okay, every single sign had English subtitles and only one gentleman I spoke to my entire time here didn’t reply in English. People didn’t even try to speak to me in Spanish… Should’ve dyed my hair like Andrew said.

Stepping off the plane in my 17th hour of travelling I was starting to look a little travel-wear - realistically? Haggard. I felt like a rockstar coming out of the washroom in a clean pair of underwear with brushed teeth and Burt’s Bees coloured chapstick on (thanks Chana), what a difference! I’m eating maple cookies for breakfast (thanks Ian) and rocking a gray v-neck (thanks Lisey) - starting my day off right!

It is a strange thing, leaving and going at the same time (although you really couldn’t do those two separate from each other, could you). The emotions associated with leaving are almost the polar opposite of those associated with going, and it is possible (I’ve realized) to feel them both simultaneously. I miss you all tremendously already (ok honestly, some more than others) but have this gnawing feeling that I’m on the brink of something huge. Part of me wishes some of you could be apart of this with me, but I’m also excited to be doing it on my own.

Please email me, keep me in the loop of your reality and I’ll try to do the same.

Mucho amor por todos!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb