Day 5


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Lima
August 13th 2008
Published: August 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola Amigos!

So I went out to buy a pair of slippers for around the volunteer house and figured I couldn´t resist stopping in at the internet cafe just for a quick blog.

This morning we headed to the MT house bright and early. We got there a little earlier than usual. Today I my jobs were bed making, breakfast feeding, helping with physio, and snuggling. You got it folks snuggling. One of the little boys who I have been working with who has a rare deformity (his calves are fused to his thighs, there are only 12 people in the world with his condition) literally wanted to snuggle for 30 minutes. We would just whisper Hola and mucho gusto (nice to meet you) and then laugh. What a sweet heart.

Also, GOOD NEWS!!! My camera works! After my ice cold shower this morning (because the hot water needs to get fixed) I decided to try the blow dryer on my camera and it seems to have worked! I am leaving out to dry for one more day because I officially go back to using it. I don´t want to pressure it to early and have it crap out. Also, I want it to be fully functional for Machu Pichu.

This afternoon we have more spanish lessons. I´m really hoping I don´t have to remember anything from yesterday, because I have forgotten absolutely everything. Learning a language is really hard, but I think I was to enroll in some conversational spanish classes when I get home, just so everything I´m learning doesn´t go to waste. I´m actually understanding a lot more than I thought I would, which is a good thing. I´m just incredibly shy to talk. One of the physiotherapists at Mother Theresa´s and I have been teaching eachother our respective languages. It basically looks like we´re teaching eachother sign language because we have to act everything out or point. My word of the day is embrassado, which means hug.

One last thing, the music in Peru is halarious. They are listening to the hits we had in Canada/US about 12 months ago. All the Peruvians love english music but they have no idea what any of the lyrics are saying. I think there favourite singer is Avril Lavigne. They play her on the radio about 10 to 12 times a day. They also place a lot of oldies. The other day we were in a cab everyone was singing to Corey Heart, and I´m pretty sure the cab driver didn´t know what to do. Also, Sex and the City just came out in theatres here. What they make up for in timing they make up for in spicy sauce and chocolate.

Also, I tried a coca cough candy. They are very relaxing. Apparently I might test positive for cocaine for a few weeks, but coca candies, tea, etc. are totally legal here. I just can´t bring any home.

Love Nicole/Poke

ps. Shell, pat Lulu for me when you see her this weekend. All the doggies here are really cute and all wear sweaters.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb