9 to 5


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » La Molina
March 30th 2010
Published: March 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The commute makes me feel alive, not like commuting in the states. Everything in Lima is intensely alive. Its not getting off the L for a lonely walk home, or walking through a deserted campus to get to the library. There are people everywhere. The city is not built for exurban sprawl. It never reaches magnificent peaks of glass and steel but also never spreads itself vainly. The elite cannot remove themselves from the crowds, so we put ourselves in the center. The best neighborhoods are centralized near the main thoroughfares.
The traffic makes me feel alive.

The beaches make me feel alive. The waves don’t gently lap at my feet. They know what I’ve done. They want revenge. In Lima the beaches are of all smooth, fist sized rocks. Sandy beaches are available to the elite at private clubs outside of Lima. There the ground is equally aware of my misdeeds, but at least they do not have the discipline, organization, and confidence to do anything. After the ocean brings you down, there is a large private pool with a built in waterfall and bar in the middle, and restaurants of various price ranges and menu options. Definitely staying in school. But ya it was a great time, very exhausting. The shantys of those whose Kingdom is in Heaven are visible on the way to and from the beach.

Well this weekend is Macchu Pichu. Also planning to write about some of the Peruvians and Intercambios ive met here so far. Basically my food sanitation teacher is amazing and my business teacher is all business (how apt). So Ya, so far staying clean, not bein rude, and takin Charlie Daniels advice: “watch where your goin, remember where you been, that’s the way I see it I’m a simple man.”


Advertisement



31st March 2010

Good to hear from you!
I'm glad you are having a wonderful experience. You're writing is also alive, keep it up.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb