Peru


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Barranco
June 21st 2008
Published: June 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Flying over ColoradoFlying over ColoradoFlying over Colorado

On my way to Atlanta
After landing in Lima last night I checked into a hostel in the district of Barranco. I was really overwhelmed about being in a foreign country. I don´t know that I ever felt that lost when I was in Europe. I went to sleep to see if I´d feel better in the morning. When I woke up I had a BBQ pork bun that Mom had packed me before I left and eventually made my way outside. I wandered to the shore, and around the district of Miraflores. After mustering courage to ride unofficial public transport I boarded a taxi collectivo (shared taxi) and proceeded to get out in the middle of a busy street (it was stopped at a light but I got out when it just turned green) where I almost got runned over by a bus. It was quite exhilarating. And by that I mean I nearly peed my pants in fear. I made it to central Lima and walked around a little more. A random tour guide man told me to go to some restaurant nearby, so I did and ordered the menu. I had mixed ceviche and a dish of tomatoes, beef, onions on rice. It
Lima GrafittiLima GrafittiLima Grafitti

Panda looking thing on an overpass
reminded me of Chinese food except that there were french fries in it. The ceviche was delicious. After my early dinner, I took a taxi back to my hostel where I am now. Me and my cabbie, Marco, chatted quite a bit in broken Spanish and I showed him a picture of Tai. He said he was guapo. I win! So anyways, hopefully I will do some more interesting things tomorrow in Lima (involving human bones). I head to Cusco on Sunday where my Spanish learning etravaganza will begin so for now, ciao.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

El MarEl Mar
El Mar

The ocean from Barranco
Lima GrafittiLima Grafitti
Lima Grafitti

grafitti under an overpass
Plaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas
Plaza de Armas

aka Plaza Mayor in Lima


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0744s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb