Inti Raymi


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
June 24th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SaqsaywamanSaqsaywamanSaqsaywaman

Ceremony on Saqsaywaman
Today was Inti Raymi, the Inca Sun Festival, here in Cusco. I don't exactly know how to describe Inti Raymi except that there were a lot of people dressed in colorful Incan costumes dancing around all day long up a hill then back down. Everyone (locals, Gringos, Peruvians) followed the procession up to the sacred mountain of Sasaqwaman and watched the ceremonious simulated sacrifice of a llama. We all (thousands of us) sat on the hills and stone Inca ruins of Sasaqwaman for a few hours. There were picnics, ice cream venders, and a break in the barrier which resulted in hundreds of people storming a prohibited area. It was good times and I'm glad I had my timing just right for the festival.

In Cusco, I am living with a family and attending a spanish school. So far I've had one class and six meals. I am enjoying everything and eventually I will need to try the Cuscan specialty: roasted guinea pig. When I learn a little more Spanish, I'll find an organization to volunteer for. It's supposed to be pretty easy to find something. I'll let you know how it's going.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

StoneworkStonework
Stonework

Inca stonework at Saysaqwaman
The IncaThe Inca
The Inca

they guy playing the Inca for Inti Raymi
CatedralCatedral
Catedral

in Plaza de Armas (main square) of Cusco
Plaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas
Plaza de Armas

main square of Cusco
Pre Inti Raymi ParadePre Inti Raymi Parade
Pre Inti Raymi Parade

Dancers with baby
QoricanchaQoricancha
Qoricancha

Inti Raymi opening ceremony at Qoricancha
faulty tapefaulty tape
faulty tape

Thousands of people running to the prohibited area for a better view


26th June 2008

hooray!
Kimmie! you're doing it! that's sooo cool! my mom said you're amazing! i agree. goin to PA on tues. mom's goin back to CA for a month on wed. zac's in germany. but we'll all be back in the rockies soon enough love from the summit!

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb