Back to...normal?


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lima » Lima » Barranco
June 24th 2007
Published: June 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well... Im back to normal...I use the word normal loosely...

Heres the link to pictures:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=30946&id=705205031
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=31056&id=705205031
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=31064&id=705205031


Britt left about half an hour ago, so Im on my own again now, its hard to say goodbye but I will see her in....26 days

We had alot of fun together, since I last updated...

Day 5: We woke up early for the Sacred Valley tour, which is a very popular tourist trip here, but was very interesting. The ruins we saw were very cool, amazing what the Incas could do back then, the technology they developed was pretty impressive. Britt and I both agreed we could have never done any of the things they did with what little they had. We got home late from that and had a nice dinner.

Day 6: Spent half the day in Cusco, where there was yet again another parade... or festival...or whatever the loud symbols and tubas were for. Britt and I had grown very tired of these annoying festivals that blocked off streets and were crowded with drunk people. It may sound disrespectful of their culture to say we grew tired of them, but trust me...you would too. Then after a little walking around we packed up and went to the airport, I was happy to get out of Cusco after spending so much time there, but I think Britt would have liked to spend a couple more days there. I jumped on something they call a Airplane, Ive traveled thousands of miles by bus here so it was weird to get on something that goes 500 km and hour. We were in Lima in about an hour, saved the 17 hour trip. After my much negotiating with various taxi drivers we were finally off to Punto Hermosa. If you were to ask me about Punto Hermosa I would say it was a nice change from the gringo packed streets of Cusco and relaxing. I think Britt would tell you it was boring with no people. It is the off season for Punto Hermosa so it was pretty much tourist free, which was a welcome change.

Day 7: Our full day in Punto Hermosa. We walked along the beach, Britt relaxed in the sand while I jumped around in the ocean like a 4 year old boy. It was so nice to see the ocean after almost 2 months of not smelling that sweet ocean salt. Britt would later tell me that the water was polluted an unfit for swimming according to her guide book, little late but thanks sis. We did some more walking along the deserted beaches and finally returned to the hotel where we did some more relaxing.

Day 8: Left Punto Hermosa at around 10 and go to smog filled Lima at 11 ish. We checked into the hostel and quickly hopped into a cab that took us to Miraflores, the safer part of Lima. I hate to sound like a city boy, but it was very nice to be in a big city again, but that would quickly wear off. We walked for hours exploring the city, I saw those familiar places that you see in each city, the golden arches, Hooters, Burger King and so on. We had a cheap dinner and decided to go to a movie, first movie I had seen in South America, I had to remind myself at the end that I was in Peru, I felt like I could have been in Vancouver again.

Day 9 (Today) : We woke up early...yet again... for our city tour of Lima, our opinion of Lima changed... a little, the architecture here is actually quite nice, in some places. We were taken through catacombs under a church where we saw lots of bones and skulls, very cool. After that we went for lunch with my Peruvian friend I had met in Argentina. We had lunch at his place then we went to a... I guess you could call it a mall, with fake DVDs, fake brand name clothes, lots of cool stuff. After, Britt and I came back to the hostel where she packed, then we had to say goodbye, it was hard... for the 9 or so days she was here I had someone, I mean I meet people and travel with them, but being with family is great, dont take it for granted people.

Tommorow night I am off to Trujillo, in the North of Peru where I will get some warmer weather and hopefully some nice beaches. Updates will be more frequent now dont you worry people.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb