Amazon Jungle


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Lambayeque
August 13th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,
<span><span>I have had a busy time since my last entry, I met the group that I will complete my 15 day tour with eveyone is really nice and sharing a room with Luice who is from London and has been travelling for the last 4 weeks so this is the end of her trip.
We started our tour by flying into the Amazon jungle. After an 1 hour bus journey and 2 hour boat journey we arrive at our logdes. The views from the boat were amazing the sun was setting and the colours in the sky were more beautiful then I had ever seen before. You could hear the river frogs and crickets making you relaise that you where far from the busy city.

The lodges were great with bannana trees growing outside. As we got there late afternoon we had a little free time then grabbed our head touches and went on a night time walk where we saw lots of insects and a tarantula (they are big in real life) it was like being in an episode of Planet Earth watching leaf ants cutting and carring leaves into their nest.

The next day we were up early to go on a walk through the jungle to a lake, along the way we were told about the plants and trees and saw lots more bugs - (and became dinner for a few of them. last count 11 bites!!) once we got to the lake we went on a canoe and saw more birds and some parrots its amazing to see wildlife in its natural habitat. In the afternoon we went swimming in a stream flowing into the Amazon it was warm but not very clear so didn't stay in too long. In the evening we went alligator spotting by boat it was amazing and saw about 7 with one almost getting onto the boat.

The Jungle was amazing and I cant wait for my 5 day trip to Manus in Brazil with my sister to do it all over again.

Advertisement



24th August 2012

Tarantulas?!
I don't know if I could handle being near tarantulas - kudos to you! Love the sound of the ants - did you get any photos of them? Cannot wait to see all your pics!xx

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb