Cuzco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
August 9th 2012
Published: August 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Been in Cuzco for a week can't believe how quickly time is going its almost time for me to pack up and fly back to Lima to start my G Adventures tour.

I arrived at 9am last friday after getting up very early for my flight and made it to the girls orphange. There are 13 girls of various ages all with different stories as to why they are there. Its the school holidays here so the girls have the days free. They love to sing and dance the youngest girl is 4 and the oldest 17. Their are lots of volunteers ranging from 17 - 40 in age, they are all lovely and have made me feel very welcome and at ease for the rest of my trip. The weather here is crazy really warm int he sun so have factor 50 sun cream on and ice sold in the shade and at night.

I have spent a few days exploring Cuzco it is a beautiful place very busy and full of tourist on their way to Machu Picchu. We have been out for dinner and I have tired Alpacha steak which was really nice, going to try guinea pig today not that excited to try it but has to be done once. I have experinced some of the night life going to some of the bars and a nightclub the acholol affects you much more up here and it is so strange to hear all the songs from the UK charts in Peru.

There was a birthday party for one of the boys at the boys orphange so went for lunch, had a chicken, egg and veg soup was very nice and good to see the boys we stayed and danced with them they love to play Sataurday Night (by Wigfield) and the Macarena for the volunteers to dance too. The boys and girls put on a show for an American sponsor who had helped build the boys new orphange they did traditional dancing in full costume and modern songs and the girls sang too. It was really good and they seemed to really enjoy it.

We took all the girls to Qorikancha (Inca ruins) yesterday and then out for hamburgers and juice for lunch, they were happy and was good to do something with them.

I have been rafting with one of the girls Esme on grade 1,2 and 3 rapid was so much fun the water was really cold and one of the group decided it would be a good idea to flip the boat not undstansing what that meant I was surprised when we turn the boat over and ended up in the river, it was soooo cold but atleast the sun was out to keep us warm.

I'm off to see Moray and Maras tomorrow with 4 other volunteers really looking forward to it before I go back to Lima to go to the jungle for a couple of days before returning to Cuzco to start the Inca trail.

In short I have been really busy in my first week have met so amazing people and seen beauitful things, I am having a great time and feel very safe here.

Photos are to follow I cant work out how to upload them but have over 150 so will put them up as soon as I can.

Advertisement



10th August 2012

Cuzco
Well done Ruth, sounds great, keep it coming. I had trouble uploading photos to start with but downloaded recommended site: Aurigma Up and got it sorted except for not being le to sort the order they appear in satisfactorily. Good enough though. Look forward to your next instalment. Don't forget to read mine :)) Mike
24th August 2012

Guinea Pig?!
Well what I want to know is what was the guinea pig like?! It sounds like you're having such a good time, and the children sound great.xx

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb