Yes, I'm still here


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Junin » Huancayo
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Okay, I know, I know - I've been slacking viciously on the blog entries!!! So much to do, so little time to write - not to mention that the internet broke down at the house and I've been having to go to internet cafés which usually boast very slow connections. Anyway, I am in Cusco now (it actually being September the 30th as I play catch-up here) and have free internet at my hotel - sweet! I can't upload pictures, however, so for now my brilliant prose will have to suffice.

"Today" I had quite a bit of fun (embarrassing, but fun) taking my first-ever salsa-dancing lesson! Kristen, Joëlle and I rocked our bodies (ineptly, to be sure) to some great latin music, much to the amusement of our patient teacher. I did manage to not step on his toes, for which I am incredibly proud, but I do think I looked more like a fish out of water than an elegant, coquettish salsa dancer. Ah well - at least in theory I know some steps now, and if they're rough around the edges, well, I just hope I can find myself a partner who knows what he's doing, should the occasion ever arise where I actually have to call upon this skill!

We also had a rolicking good soccer game at the orphanage (no more wheezing - I am fully acclimatized now, hurray!) - Kristen and I stayed until way past dark, until we couldn't even see the ball. I would like to use that as an excuse for having scored an own goal, but truth be told, that was while it was still cheery and bright out... in my defense though, one of the boys had been playing with a piece of jagged, broken mirror (where art thou, Fisher Price?) and dropped it right in front of the net - and when, like a good responsible adult, I bent over to pick it up, a shot came right at me and glanced off my foot into the goal! I still say it didn't count...

Between work and salsa, we payed a quick trip to the surprisingly beautiful "Parque de la Identidad Wanka," an oasis of brightly lit stonework and landscaping in this dusty, tumbledown city. It was like an enchanted forest, with bridges, statues, castles! A fairy-tale land. Too bad I am immature and can't help but giggle at its name, as well as all of the other Wanka-identified constructions around here. The Wankas - or Huancas - were the indigineous people of this whole region, and are in fact their descendents are still going strong and proud. Guess they don't know what their name sounds like in English. Well - I won't be the one to tell.



Advertisement



2nd October 2008

hehehe...wanka.
5th October 2008

let's do salsa classes when you return :P
7th October 2008

hells yeah! I really want to learn more!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb