Islas Ballestas


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Pisco
June 28th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up with severe neck-pains from my tumble yesterday evening. I´m still sneezing out globs of sand.

At 5:30 AM we departed for Isla Ballesta via Pisco.
(I'm not sure why we get up so early...getting old I guess)

We boarded a small tourist boat and headed west towards the Islands from the small fishing village of Paracas. There we had fantastic views of Peruvian boobies..... sea lions, penguins and hundreds of assorted birds.

The odor was rather overpowering.... what do you expect from islands full of guano.

One island in particular was absolutely carpeted by cormorants....the sight would have made even Alfred Hitchcock a tad jittery... especially with no phone booths in sight.

I got a tad sea sick.... Luckily I popped some Hydrazine just in time.

After returning to shore we spent the rest of the day playing tourist in Pisco and Ica.

Just for kicks we took a Peruvian version of a tuk'tuk taxi back to our hotel.... can you say comfort class n´est pas!?



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



29th June 2005

Fishing
If you can't use dynamite to fish what do you use?

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb