Reflections on Venezuela


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Pisco
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Los LlanosLos LlanosLos Llanos

a wild little pony that wasnt sure if it wanted to be near people... or as far away as possible!
First off, HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!
Now that Lauren and I have met up and started our journies in Perú, it seems like AGES since I´ve written, and DECADES ago since I was in Venezuela. It´s like it´s another world away!

I wanted to write a few closing notes on Venezuela, a country that I both LOVED with all my heart, and that frustrated me to NO end!
Here is a list of of a few things in Venezuela that I will not miss...

1. The Men. 99% of the mauchismo males drove me nuts! They hissed, they followed me, they made lewd comments and they stared. They made me feel like meat, and it was nasty. There were a few who allllmost made up for the others, but not completely!

2. The Meat. Speaking of meat... ya never really knew what you were going to get when you ordered something with ´carne´. Often it was beef, but it could be goat, or horse or... ??? Maybe it´s better left to the imagination!

3. The Fried Food. At one point Rachel and I tried a ´no fried food in Mérida´ diet. It lasted a day. Everything is fried
The Dusty TrailThe Dusty TrailThe Dusty Trail

part of our group trouping along trying to spot all sorts of wildlife in Los Llanos
there... it´s quite a disappointment and makes it REALLY hard to eat healthy! (Don´t get me wrong, I really liked a whooole lot of the fried stuff... like the Pavellón Empenadas made from Black Beans (carajotes), beef, platanos (hard bananas, fried, of course), salsa, tomatoes and whatever else they can cram into one pocket!) yummmmy! But about the fried-nature of all the food, it definitely explains why there are SO many overweight people there!

4. The Muffin Tops. Speaking of overweight people, I really have to say something about this! There is a rampant problem in Venezuela; a lack of cloth. All of the clothes seem to have been sold 18 sizes too small. There is a ´one-size-fits-all´ size to all clothes and it doesnt matter if the woman is a size 2 or a 22, she will wear the same skirt and same shirt as any other. I saw more muffin top, quadruple boob, camel toe, spare tire (or three) and just plain unattractive amounts of bare skin! There is a limit to the amount of skin a woman should be letting hang out, regardless of her size and EVERY woman in Venezuela definitely broke that limit and then some. I understand the need to wear minimal clothes when it´s hot, but there were even turtle-neck wearers who were coverd up to their neck, and had their entire belly hanging out. There would be much more attractive means in which to display their bodies! Oh for What Not To Wear!

5. The Mosquitoes. I tried to take it in stride... I tried to not let them bother me and just take it. I know I was fresh meat, and I know my Canadian blood probably tastes reaaaally good... but MANNN!!! It was sooo hard to not scratch them, and I arrived in Perú covered in little red dots from where I lost the will-power battle.

Now that I´ve complained allll about Venezuela this is where I take the time to reiterate what an AMAZING time I had for the month and a half I was there. It was the perfect place for me to travel alone and to practice the language (you would be surprised at the number of people who have told me I have a Venezuelan accent as they shake their heads in confusement), to see fabulous sites, meet awesome people, and do things
From the Bottom of the TeleféricoFrom the Bottom of the TeleféricoFrom the Bottom of the Teleférico

The lushness of the bottom...
I´ve never done, and may never do again in my life! I loved Venezuela and hope that I can return some day to my dear orphanage. (anyone wanna join!!!!???!?).

Alright, pictures will follow but the internet is toooo slow tonight! Off to watch Lauren kill herself while waxing her legs. ahaha, sucker! Little does she know that it´s WAY easier to just let it grow! (Mom, you´d be so proud of the little hippy Im turning into!!).

Hugs from Perú,
Callie


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

To the TOP!To the TOP!
To the TOP!

In the span of less than 2 hours... here we were! It was such a shock to the system
Flowered looking PlantFlowered looking Plant
Flowered looking Plant

Beautiful plants covered the landscape (and yes, mom, I did take LOADS of pictures of the flora!! Maybe a few too many!?)
Same TarantulaSame Tarantula
Same Tarantula

Another picture of the big-ass spider. the guide was so fearless it was freaky!
Hehe, Im a geekHehe, Im a geek
Hehe, Im a geek

M.S. and C.H. ... yea barf barf, I know!
TombstoneTombstone
Tombstone

A little monument to the dead...
Look! They are THIS BIGLook! They are THIS BIG
Look! They are THIS BIG

Im very proud to be standing in front of some waterfalls... apparently!
Behind the ScenesBehind the Scenes
Behind the Scenes

Getting ready to plunge into the falling water BEHIND the water... but let´s be honest, we still got REALLY wet!
Waterfalls from a TepuisWaterfalls from a Tepuis
Waterfalls from a Tepuis

Many little waterfalls from on of the dozens of tepuis
The Pilot and his Tricks Mag...The Pilot and his Tricks Mag...
The Pilot and his Tricks Mag...

Yea, he reads barrel roll magazines on the side. and no, he is NOT looking where we´re going!
Christmas Eve with the KidsChristmas Eve with the Kids
Christmas Eve with the Kids

Wilson and María and yours truly on Xmas Eve. What a peaceful and beautiful night!


12th January 2007

Orphanage? I'm in!
Next time you go back to the orphange, take me with you! I loved reading all about it...makes me want to meet all the little hellians, haha!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb