Paracas


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Paracas
November 7th 2016
Published: November 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I left Trujillo Sunday evening on a very comfortable bus and arrived in Paracas on Monday afternoon in Paracas which is in the desert three hours south of Lima. It was much prettier than I expected simply because the activity to do there was another ´´Poor man´s Galapagos´´ so I imagined somthing similar to Puerto Lopez in Ecuador. Actually it is a lot more touristic because people can also come from Lima on day trips.

I treated myself to a boat tour of las Islas Ballestas which are a reserve for birds, seals and a few penguins. I couldn´t believe how many birds and seals there were. I heard that in the past, it was obligatory to wear a hat because of the bird shit, now they just tell you it´s lucky if you get shat on.

We could not get on the island which I found great cause it clearly increases the bird population on the island to not have any tourist path on it. It was breathtaking and gorgeous.

The other activity to do there is the National Park which is the desert really, with a cool coast cause it´s not everywhere you find desert meets ocean like that. I decided to do this with a quad bike cause it´s more fun that on a bus....was soooo much fun ! The guide also took us some steeper hills (well steep enough for me) and we had a bit of time for some swimming in the sea on a beach empty of anybody but us and our quads.

Paracas was a great way to start the adventure again...


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



19th November 2016
IMG_3765

Breath taking as you say!
But how do you manage to jump so high on the pictures :) Dad
20th November 2016
IMG_3765

photo trick
haha it´s all about taking the photo from the ground so it looks high !! but really it is not ! ;)

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb