Huacachina


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Huacachina
November 9th 2016
Published: November 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Huacachina is an oasis town about an hour away from Paracas. I actually stayed in Ica, the city that is 10min from the oasis cause it would be easier for buses and cheaper for hostals. Ica is quite a big town/city. I grabbed a tuc tuc to Huacachina and had a walk around the oasis. Absolutely incredible! As I was driving towards there, we were surrounded by sand dunes the height a 5 storey building. Once arrived at the oasis, it is so silent! I donĀ“t think it is the high season cause it was so quiet! The dunes all around it are absolutely huge!!! and there are hostals all around the oasis apart from one side of it. Really impressive for me to think of how isolated this place would be without this one little road.

I joined a buggy and sandboarding tour. Now the only experience I had of sandboarding was on little dunes and having to walk up myself and then enjoy falling flat on my face first. Here, the dunes are huuuuuge so it was a different story. The buggy was a lot of fun as the driver would look for all the steepest dunes and go relly fast, it was litterally like a rollercoaster! He then left us at the top of a dune and down we went on three massive slopes, one after the other, hoping he would come pick us u cause it would take us days to climb back up....he did come pick us up with the buggy and took us back up again but this time, he said to go down the fourth one as well.....the fourth one was the longest and most of us crashed. I managed to crash with grace! ....on that one only, the other slopes got sand all over me!

We then conitnued on with the buggy, stopped for the sunset and got back. This desert felt very different from the Sahara cause you can alwasy see some civilisation in the horizon so you never feel completely isolated and the dunes are so high ( i am repeating myself).


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

IMG_3884IMG_3884
IMG_3884

Some nice people I met on the buggy tour :)


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb