When it rains it... (part 2)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca
February 25th 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

When it Rains it... (part 2)

Well, we finally retrieved our bank card from it's would-be ATM prison. We started off the road with the knowledge that our troubles were behind us. That is until a good neighbor passed us on the road honking and waving frantically that there was something wrong with our back tire. We quickly pulled over (as did the good neighbor) only to discover that the tires seemed fine. No, explained the good neighbor, what he saw was not the tire but a small flame emanating from the motor area. As we were behind the car examining the area more closely, I heard the driver's side door click open and I hurried to the front of the car to find one of the good neighbor's passengers opening my door. When he saw that I saw him he wandered rather quickly back to the car as did the good neighbor and they rapidly drove off. (Keep in mind this all happened in a matter of seconds). We realized in the next moment that there had not been anything wrong with the car at all but it had been an attempt at theft. After being pretty convinced that the thief hadn't had enough time to take anything (due to the noisy doors on the van), we then worried that maybe he tried to put something IN the van. (Like a small amount of drugs that a police in cahoots down the road would “discover” and use to extort money from us). After we found no such thing, we started off down the road a little shaken but wiser.

At least we still had our ATM card we thought was lost. Since we were out of cash, we decided after a few hours of driving to get some out at the next town. Declined? What on earth? Declined at the next bank too? What? A long distance call being charged by the minute while on hold for nearly an hour by the nice folks at Bank of America. The voice at the other end of the line explained that our card had been “compromised” (never mind that it was never out of the possession of the bank where we left it in the ATM) and the card had to be canceled. What?!? Keep in mind that this is our only way to get any money from the States.
The eye of the storm.The eye of the storm.The eye of the storm.

After almost being robbed and finding out the bank decided to cancel our only bank card.
Well, can you send me a new card? “You will have to pick it up at one of our branches” the guy tells me. “But I am in the middle of the Peruvian desert...” I begin to explain. “Well, we can also mail it to your home address in Texas”. Panic begins to set in. I ask for his boss and again explain my desperate situation.

BoA phone person: “Well, we could mail you a new card to Peru, just give me your address there”.

Me: “I live in my car”.

BoA phone person: “Oh”. “Well, try to get me an address and we will see what we can do.”

I contacted some folks in Cuzco and they gave me an address where I could have the cards sent. I call Bank of America back who again have me on hold nearly an hour when I am being charged by the minute. Meanwhile, after being on that long the telephone place closes for the lunch hour and tries to kick me out. I plead for extra time. I desperately resort to a small bribe to stay open.

BoA phone person: “We will make an exception for you Mr. Kunkel but it will be 7-10 business days before we can get you your card”

Me: “I don't have money for even two days never mind 7-10 business days”

BoA phone person: “Oh, and when you get your card in the 7-10 business days, you will have to call and activate your card from your home phone in Texas that is listed on your account”

Me: "Say what?"

Apparently the screening process to work for these call centers is not very strenuous. They did turn the card back on for one single withdrawal before they canceled it for good.

Fun times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb