People


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca
March 19th 2005
Published: March 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Key MakerKey MakerKey Maker

Purpose, pride, precision
Thirty years ago, my poor table manners led me to the kitchen to eat with what we called the ´servants´. At that point in time in my life, we were affluent with four ´servants´. Between the live-in gardner, cook, houskeeper and nanny we were well served.

Tonight I found myself choosing between eating some chicken and fries alone at the table, or joining one of the ´servants´ in the kitchen - the choice was obvious.

Throughout my travels in Mexico, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Venezuela, Colombia, Peru and a few other countries where the class system is disfunctioning as it was designed, I gradually found myself gravitating towards those of indigenous heritage and away from the european stock.

Mission trips deep into Mexico offered a looking glass into the life on the other side of the race and class curtain.

Deep within me and I think within most people is the need and desire to simply be - be who they are - be who their Creator designed. For me to be, it is best if I am with those which are - what they are. Typically, the humble, poor would be the adjective used in the 1st
SurvivorSurvivorSurvivor

83 years of surviving
world Nations, are what they are without any aire´s as to pretense, social status or relativity in the social structure.

My particular path has led me to the thin air, peak´s of society, and to the sea level where the majority of humanity moves and has it´s way. I have seen a little girl of ten befriend my 10 year old daughter and several years later she had to turn to prostitutiion in Mexico in order to make it from day to day in her world. What fortune smiled upon me that it was not my child which had to elect such a difficult course...

Just as the varnish is being striped from the wood grain, or the metal treated by the heat from the furnace to yeild the highest content of purity and clarity; I find those which have lived a hand to mounth existance to have a certain ´je ne sais pas´ (i do not know what) - i suppose salt of the earth.

The purpose of my trip to latin america was to document the DECENDANTS OF THE INCAS - here are a few of the beautiful people God placed in my path.

For a photographer to take credit for a photo seems to be insane - God creates everything, i get to walk around looking for the beauty, frame the image, set the background and the way light interacts. In other words, to me photography is never about the photographer, it is all about the person, place or thing - and God.





Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Like a rockLike a rock
Like a rock

standing in the street in nasca -
Pride of professionPride of profession
Pride of profession

so many people asked for a photo...
Heat shieldHeat shield
Heat shield

My guide - Anthony
IncaInca
Inca

on the pyramid of cahuachi nasca
Beauty of NascaBeauty of Nasca
Beauty of Nasca

the future holds
Shaman of the AmazonShaman of the Amazon
Shaman of the Amazon

Grandchildren have no interest in following...
MamachaMamacha
Mamacha

mother in quechua
niñacha capuriñauiniñacha capuriñaui
niñacha capuriñaui

girl of the beautiful look - quechua


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb