Nazca Lines and Bad Health


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca
March 6th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Get up nice and early again (don't think this travelling stuff is easy) and admittedly I wasn't really feeling too good to start with but I had a flight over the Nazca Lines to catch and I didn't want to miss it.

Got to the tiny airport and was shown a video of the history of the lines. But there were so many tvs in different languages that I couldn't hear mine. Luckily I had read up on them beforehand!

The lines are geolyphs (drawings in the ground) of things like birds, whales, spiders and more but they can only be seen from above. No one really knows what they were for but there are lots of theories such as they were drawn for the Gods or done by aliens etc...

We got onto a tiny 8 seater plane went up into the air and the pilot shouts "whale to the left". I couldn't see it. "Whale to the left". I still couldn't see it. Then jsut as we're about to leave, I finally see it. And it was worth the wait!

Then we flew around and saw tonnes more like the spider, the monkey, the condor, the hummingbird and my favourite: the astronaut.

But! As we turned to come back, I suddenly started to feel very, very nauseous. Sweating like crazy, feeling like the blood had drained from my face, light-headed and ready to vomit. One woman said that she was sure I was going to fall straight over when I stepped off the plane! But luckily nothing happened. Which was weird but after sleeping it off for a couple of hours I was well enough to go shopping!

In the evening, we went for a traditional Peruvian meal where they cook the food in the ground for about 8 hours (it was so tasty). They then give something to the mother earth to say thank you for the food and begin to dig it up. I had peppers, potatoes, cheese, broccoli and bread and was a very satisfied customer. Would definitely recommend going to one of those meals to anyone who visits here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb