We´re high!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Nazca » Nazca Lines
October 14th 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello again!

The location of this blog is a bit of a lie as we are now in Cusco, but one update at a time...

We left Huacachina and said goodbye to our new friends. We hopped on a bus and in two hours we were in Nazca. Now nearly everyone I know who has been to Naza didn´t like it but I was really quite fond of it! Our hostel was lovely although the water was more than a little chilly. We spent the afternoon on a bit of a mad panic as we needed to book a bus to Cusco for the next day but every company we tried was booked up (lesson learnt) until eventually a lovely woman at the LInes flight company gave us a name of one that was older and not as nice but had seats so we couldn´t complain! We had a nice meal cooked by the family in the hostel and hit the sack.

We passed the next morning exploring Nazca. It´s such a busy little place and the atmosphere is great. The people are so friendly and helpful. EVERYONE says hi which was a little intimidating at first but we now know that most just want to chat and speak a little English with you, it´s lovely!

We skipped lunch in perparation for the flight over the lines and headed to the airport. We were told we could spend a few hours before and after at the posh hotel there using the pool etc, which was true, although there was no water in the pool!
The plane was a 5 seater and I have to say that just a few minutes in I was a shade of green as he banked right and left so we could all see the lines! They really are impressive and there´s so many theories about them too! We spent a few hours trying to feel human again after the flight and then headed into town to kill the last few hours before our 11.30pm bus to Cusco. The bus was FREEEZING cold overnight and BOILING hot during the day and took 14 hours!

Cusco is almost 3700 metres above sea level and it´s having its toll on us, especially Laura who is currently resting. There´s so little oxygen in the air! We have two days to acclimatise and then it´s the Inca Trail!

I have put a few more photos on imagestation site (email me if you need username and password) and will add more soon hopefully, and yes there are all out of order!

Sorry if I have rambled, I´ve had no sleep and feel quite odd from the altitude so I will leave it there! Hope you are all well, lots of love Ames x x x

Advertisement



16th October 2006

Hey Ames - Wow you gals really jumped into this adventure with both feet. Good for you! I'd love to see the pics, but as I don't have your email addy, could you get in touch with me at skirtzite@aol.com?
16th October 2006

Good to see you
Sorry I missed you ealier on ITE, but glad to see you moving around the world. Send me the information on the imagestation site, I think you have my e-mail but if not pop me a post on ITE. Have a safe trip, and just remember I live at 5000 feet above sea level and love the thinner air.
17th October 2006

Imagestation
I got the info on ITE but the username and password aren't working. I will check back again. Good to see your adventures, and to hear from you when you have the chance.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0845s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb