Sand boarding in Huacachina


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ica » Huacachina
September 28th 2008
Published: November 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After traveling in a bus about 6 hours overnight from Lima we arrived in Inca mid morning and took a taxi about 20 minutes to the small desert oasis of Huacachina. We checked into a cute hostel and had breakfast there on the patio overlooking the small lake in the middle of the town. Immediately after we got on our suits and went to lie out on the beach surrounding the lake. Huacachina is like nothing I have ever seen before… the town is made up of solely hostels, restaurants, a small lake with paddle boats and it is completely surrounded by huge sand dunes.
That afternoon we got on a dune buggy that took us on a thrilling ride in the sand dunes. We were driving over sand dune cliffs really fast and it made my stomach get that free falling feeling you get with roller coaster rides. After a wild ride we stopped at the “practice dune” were we strapped into our sand boards for a practice run. The sand boards were basically a board with Velcro straps that go around your shoes. There was absolutely no control and we got no lesson and it was a lot harder than I thought it would be. I could only stay up on the board for about 2 seconds before I would fall back on my bun. Then I tried riding a bigger dune down by sitting on my board, but that didn’t work out too well because by the time I was half way down I was off my board and completely covered in sand. It was fun though and at the end of the day we got to watch the sun set over the sand desert and it was beautiful. That night we went out to dinner at a funky pizza place and took it easy because there was pretty much nothing to do in the way of night life and we had to wake up early the next morning to catch a bus to Nasca.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb