Machu Picchu & The Inka Trail


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco
December 29th 2006
Published: January 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody!! the lasts days i was doing one of the dreams of my life: climbing the Inka trail trough Machu Picchu!!! I still can't belive i've done that!! I was aaaaawsome!!

The Xmas night i've dinner with Daniela, Cristina and Morena, my 3 Switz friends, then i met a lot of brazilans guys at Plaza de las Armas and we went to a lot of night clubs like Mama Africa, Mama America, Up town, we've drunk a lot and i arrived at the hostel at 5 am, and the bus was supposed to pick me up at the hostel at 6 am!! So, it was 6:30 am and i was walked by Corey, an australian travelmate, telling me that the bus was waiting for me!!! What a confusion, i had to pack my trek stuff in my little backpack, leave my big backpack at the hostel and enter in the bus to the inka trail still drunk!!! i didn't take a shower, change my clothes, noothing! it was crazy, but very funny!!!

Then the trail starts, we've a 30 min bus ride to Ollantaytambo, a nearly city from Cusco where the trail begins. And the next 3 days was only trekking trough peruvian andes, enjoying fab views, specially at the 3rd day, when we saw a lot of ruins, it was crazy! the worst day was the 2nd day, we climbed from aprox 2800m to 4215m, it was a little hard, but i finished it very quickly, 1 hour before the porteadores and 3 hours before the rest of my group. And the rest of the day was only wait, enjoy the views and play cards with my trail team. I met a lot of nice people in this 3 days, from Argentina, Russia, Switz, German and a looot of Brazilians! it was very funny and it was good to me speak a little of portuguese after all this time speaking only english and spanish!

Then, at the 4th day, we arrived Machu Picchu! the first you think when you arrival is that the city is unreal, so beatiful that it is! then we went to the control post to register ourself and leave our big backpack. I broght a little one, so i was allowed to bring it with me. Our guide (i forgot his name) took us to a 3 hours tour trough the ruins and explained a lot of the history and the meanings of the Inka city. After that, i stayed the rest of the day there and about 4 pm we took the train back to Cusco, we had a little confusion with the bus but finnaly everything was fine!

So now i'm at the hostel drinking a beer and i ll spend a few days here before go to Nazca. I'm in doubt to go back to Brazil and enjoy the next month at Rio de Janeiro and Buzios with my family, but if i do it, it'll be only after the Happy New Year's party.

So, see everybody soon, wherever i ll be!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Our first campsiteOur first campsite
Our first campsite

stop to lunch!
Nice viewsNice views
Nice views

Snowpeaked mountains from our 2nd campsite
DesayunoDesayuno
Desayuno

Having breakfast on the 2nd day
The trail gets harderThe trail gets harder
The trail gets harder

Getting some rest at the 2nd day hike
I've done it!I've done it!
I've done it!

Reached teh 4215m point! now is only go down!
First Inka ruinsFirst Inka ruins
First Inka ruins

It's getting better!
Another one!Another one!
Another one!

that was bigger!
That was awsome!That was awsome!
That was awsome!

A huge Inka Fortress!
Arriving Machu PicchuArriving Machu Picchu
Arriving Machu Picchu

it was supposed to see the city from this mirador!
Templo del SolTemplo del Sol
Templo del Sol

Sun's temple


Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb