The Inca Trail


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Machu Picchu
December 8th 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"The First Family Photo""The First Family Photo""The First Family Photo"

This was the begging of the Inca Trail with all of us..
While in Cuzco I booked a trip on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. The trip was a 4 day hike through the Andies on the famos trail made by the Incas hundreds of years ago. First of all I have to say it was AMAZING.... There was 9 people in the group from all different countries but all under 35 years old. we instantly became a close group which made the experience that much better. Along the trail we saw many Inca ruins and climbed to the top of who knows how many passes one reached around 12,500 ft. The views were like nothing else I have ever seen. On the fourth day we got up at 3:45 am to hike to the Sun Gate to watch the sun rise over Machu Picchu then hiked down to the site itself and spent the day there. well I could go on and on about it but you will have to see the pics yourself. So here you go... I have about 50 photos of this 4 day trip but I only had time to upload 11 so if you want to see more Let me know and I will do my
Inca RuinInca RuinInca Ruin

I will get all the names of the different sites in soon but till then lets just call this one "the First"
best to add them..


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

LlamasLlamas
Llamas

Just of few Llamas roaming the Andies..
The Mountian we had to climb!!!The Mountian we had to climb!!!
The Mountian we had to climb!!!

Looking down you may be able to see the little camp at the bottom of the hill. Well that was the starting point of the days hike. In total we had to climb about 1200ft that day it was CRAZY..
I made it..I made it..
I made it..

This was taken at the top of the highest pass we hiked.. it was 4015 meters so about 12,045ft.. All this by mid day..
"Site 2""Site 2"
"Site 2"

Again I will get the names up as soon as I can..
An Inca CaveAn Inca Cave
An Inca Cave

Well just what it looks like there was a cave along the trail one of many so I felt why not lets take a photo.. So here you go.. How do you like my walking stick??
"site 3""site 3"
"site 3"

Here you go once again.. for now just take in the beauty..
Sunrise over Machu PicchuSunrise over Machu Picchu
Sunrise over Machu Picchu

This was taken from the Sun Gate overlooking Machu Picchu at 6:30am. from here we were still 45min from the site its self..UNREAL..
Machu PicchuMachu Picchu
Machu Picchu

Here you go the clasic view of Machu Picchu..
Wanna PicchuWanna Picchu
Wanna Picchu

Myself and Olav choose to hike to the top of Wanna Picchu (spelling ??) Which is the mountian on the other side of Machu Picchu. You can see it from all the other photos of Machu Picchu.


8th December 2007

wow
i will request to see all the pics when you get back but the ones that you posted are fucking rad. looks like you're with a cool group... take care john
26th December 2007

feliz navidad
Jim your photos are awesome, keep them coming. Have an unforgettable Christmas and a fascinating new year!Merry Christmas. Love Paul,Rita,Jodi and julie

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb