What goes up must come down!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Lares Trek
August 26th 2008
Published: November 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lares 3... the last day & Machu Picchu

Got woken up by the porters asking us what tea we would like.. we didn't even need to leave the tent. Lovely. We also had pancakes for breakfast on our last day - what a service. Today was a really easy day as we were only hiking 4 hours and then we were back into the land of civilisation, which wierdly enough I didn't really fancy, which was surprising since the camping was a learning curve to say the least! I was sure a few more nights and i would have really got into it. The scenery was again really beautiful. It was time to go though as we were filthy.. completely and utterly. My beige combats were now a dark shade of brown and we were all fantasising about the hot showers we hadn't had for 3 days, plus my hair looked like I was a wannabe rasta. We said goodbye to our porters and they got tipped very well for a job very well done. Got a bus back to my favourite place Ollantaytambo, then a train to Aguas Calientes, where Machu Picchu is.

The train journey was so pretty.. lots of lush green trees everywhere, sunshine, and blue skies. I was fairly tired and really wanted to sleep on the train but just stared about the window. When we came into the town I really wished I had done the proper Inca Trail as trekking through that would have been amazing, but the Lares Trek was still brilliant. Next time! Aguas Calientes is rather touristy but I loved it. The town is surrounded by Machu Picchu and all the other mountains which means wherever you look you have an amazing view. It's very hilly though so walking everywhere means you're getting very fit and very out of breath! We had a quick turnaround then off to the hot springs to relax which was amazing. Food and clubbing followed and we had to be up at 4am ...

This is what we had all been waiting for. We got the bus at 5am to Machu Picchu so we could be there for sunrise. I couldn't believe I was there. Machu Picchu was the sole reason I came to South America and I have Jen's boyfriend Neil to thank for that (cheers!) as I didn't really know much about it until he suggested I must do it. It was the clearest morning with no mist and we hung around for about 90 mins until the sun rose over the mountains and then onto Machu Picchu itself. I can't explain it but it was just a real WOW moment. Without sounding like a right hippy, it's the most magical place I have ever been to. Just really beautiful and everywhere you look you just see these humungous mountains which makes you feel so small. When the sun rose the place was silent, no one really spoke, and people were just watching. I just found somewhere to sit for 30 mins and just stared at the view. It's definately one of those places you sit and contemplate life. We met with the rest of our group who did the inca trail and they ended up running up the trail to make sunrise in time. Unfortunately Helen really sprained her ankle so was strapped up and the porters carried her up the trail for a few hours despite her being about 6 inches taller than them all. Those guys are so strong and again, proof that South American people can't do enough for you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

they weren't kiddingthey weren't kidding
they weren't kidding

the walk up to Machu Picchu
don't jump!don't jump!
don't jump!

Someone feeling the energy in Machu PIcchu


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb