Mauro


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Inca Trail
April 23rd 2009
Published: April 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mauro to my LeftMauro to my LeftMauro to my Left

Carlos, our main guide, to my right. We stand in front of Intipata.
Mauro

"Say chi-chis again," says Mauro as he gets ready to take a photo
with someone's digital, his thick, distinct accent loud and slow. His
English is not the best, but he tries hard, which often ends up
amusing. Not until the end of the trek did we find out that chi-chis
is Spanish for "breasts". Every time he says it, he lets out a
boisterous laugh that usually lasts for an unnecessarily long time.
Mauro fiddles with another camera, having trouble getting it to work.
Again, he says "Chi-chis". He smiles largely and awkwardly looks
around at everyone. Very joyful and kind, Mauro wants to know everyone
and it is his pleasure to make sure they have everything they need.
Hospitality is what he knows.
Before he worked for SAS, Maura worked for a hotel in Cusco for
several years. This is only his fifth Inca Trail excursion and he
likes to walk in the back of the line, take his time and enjoy his
small breaks. Like Carlos, he is very good with names. Although his
English is limited, he loves to hold conversations.
"Do you have family?" he asked me.
I look at him confused, unsure exactly what he meant.
"A wife? Kids?" he asked.
"Oh, no, I'm not married," I say. "No kids."
"You are bachelor," he says, smiling like he just said chi-chis.
"Bachelor. Bachelor." Mauro often repeats words three or four times,
perhaps unsure what to say next or proud he said the right one.
"y tu?" I ask
"Divorce!" he exclaimed proudly.
"I see. Any children?"
"One. He is four."
"See him much?"
"One time a month."
"On good terms with your ex esposa?"
"I finish with that relationship."
Mauro is bizarre, but his joy appeared newfounded. He knew his wife
wasn't good for him and, although he doesn't often see his son, he's
content.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb