Weapons of Mass Destruction


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Inca Trail
August 10th 2005
Published: August 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dead Woman's PassDead Woman's PassDead Woman's Pass

We made it!!
Bang! That's the pressure in my head now that I've had a few moments to unwind after one hell of a grueling day. Today was our shortest, but toughest day. We ascended over 1200 meters to a peak of 4200 meters. For all my American friends, that roughly climbing 4000 feet to an alititude of almost 14000 feet. The air's thin up here folks. Actually, I had fun during the climb. It was mostly Saggy Buns and I at the front with the Scottish Billy Goat. He's a quiet guy, but he seems nice enough. I'm having a bit of a hard time understanding him, but damn this kid can hike.

We made camp at 2PM having accomplished our hiking goal for the day. At lunch, I sat next to the cute lasss which was a treat for this dirty old man. In all honesty, I was very much enamored with her accent even though I couldn't always understand what she was saying. Ah well. I do think my next vacation is going to be to Scotland.

After lunch, Stinky Buns joins me in my tent for some poker where we play for 10soles. This was a big mistake.
I'm such a dork!I'm such a dork!I'm such a dork!

My rain dance.
Not because I lost. In fact, I won his 10 soles, but my nose paid for it dearly. Inbetween each hand, Stinky Buns had to unleash a fart. Is the air really so thin here that he can't hold it in? To make matters worse, Saggy Buns has the fantastic idea of covering up the smell with his Addidas sports spray. This melange of odors was suffocating in a small tent - thank god Saddam never had access to this kind of arsenal!

In any case, dinner came and went and I think we all slept soundly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

No doubt left ...No doubt left ...
No doubt left ...

I really am a dork.
BreathlessBreathless
Breathless

View from Dead Woman's Pass
We are familyWe are family
We are family

The Scottish Dad, The Billy Goat, and The Cute Lass


5th September 2005

Leadin' the Way
You fail to mention that the four present and former Coloradans lead the way up to Dead Woman's Pass, almost beating the guides! ;)
6th September 2005

I also forgot to mention that 22 porters carrying 3 times the weight of present and former Coloradans beat everyone to the top and were probably busy setting up our camp by the time those Coloradans made it up to the pass.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb