LIFE


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 22nd 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Life for me here in Perú seems to have found a balance and routine. I can’t even imagine life back in Australia anymore (except for maybe the hot wonderful showers)- I’ve slipped into daily local life like I’ve been here all my life.. although my cooking skills are still left wanting… on Saturday mornings I sit out in the courtyard scrubbing clothes with my hands like I’ve known how to do it all my life: I’m filling up the buckets and cylinders on the days when we have water; I pick up the chickens with my bare hands when they escape from their house. Oh yes, we have chickens now, and they ALWAYS escape and they particularly like to escape and hide (and shit) under our bed…I sit out in the courtyard with the kids and help make necklaces that get sold at markets in Brazil (for every 2000 necklaces that we make, we receive 50 soles (which is about AUS$20)…. I even shower with saucepans of water without flinching and having a tantrum.

Work is fun, I’ve become this multi skilled woman working for both the Amauta Spanish School and it’s travel agency: Dos Manos. I am selling Spanish
Me and my first pay.Me and my first pay.Me and my first pay.

-(not that I get paid, because I am just a visitor.. it's more like a... gift...)-
classes AND tours in and around Cusco. So it’s been quite an experience.

I catch the local buses, like I’ve never known anything other… And if you were to see how full the buses get, you would understand what an extreme achievement that is. There’s been some days where the bus has been so full that I have to hang dangerously legs and arms out the windows (no, not that extreme, but I’ve had my face squashed up against the window so many times that it is second nature now.)

There really hasn’t been any adventures lately, it has just been life really: Ronny, Elvis’ brother graduated from tech school- Amilcar, another brother, got accepted into Uni here to be a engineer of some sort. Elvis is doing fantastically well with his job here in Cusco and all the other kids are doing what they normally do.

The family cat died the other week: which was quite devastating for the family, even for me, and I hate cats. We are on the search for a new cat to come to the house- because without the cat around, we have these GIANT GIANT rats come through and eat the guinea pigs. Quite the zoo happening at our house really.

The rainy season is starting to creep in: it is quite a mess with all the dirt roads, it turns them into huge mud baths that all the buses get bogged in. And no matter how hard you try, the second you step out the door your clothes are dirty. So, now I don’t even bother and walk around with muddy pants. Nothing like blending in.

Well, that’s all there really is….

Candice.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Street VendorStreet Vendor
Street Vendor

Along the streets outside of Cusco they sell roast pig, and sell the crackle off the pig by the bag fulls.
Ronny's Graduation.Ronny's Graduation.
Ronny's Graduation.

Yes, they are happy, it's just a really bad photo.


22nd September 2006

happy
Hey Sis, Thank you for keeping me in yur thoughts and updated as well:-) I am so glad that you have found happiness. It warms my heart. congrats. Love, your bro
23rd September 2006

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.
HI Candice have just caught up with your adventure my I don't think I could have done it I think it is great that you are abe to live and be happy in Cusco I am a real city woman love you both P.S. if there is anything I can do for you and Elvis please don't hesitate let me know PPS Krissy and Bill got married about an hour ago in Fiji
23rd September 2006

good to hear from you again. I have been waiting for an update. TE AMO PERU!!
25th September 2006

I dont think your bra really fits Diana!! Love you. Ashleighxoxo
25th September 2006

Pilbara Greetings
Wow Candice - I cant believe your married and living in Cusco. It is so amazing - I was captured by your travel blogs and it brought back amazing memories. Cusco definitely somewhere I would love to revisit. Congratulations on your marriage to Elvis. (Hello Miriam, Sally, Julie and Greg :). Do you have a postal address? Looking forward to the next travel blog entry - I agree with Miriam - I would read your book. Take care and very best of wishes, Kel xx
29th September 2006

Congratulations
Hi Candice, do you remember the Nola's? Well dad has just emailed me your TravelBlog and i am so facinated and proud of what you have achieved and still doing. Congratulations on your wedding. I hear Elvis is a great person. I wish you both a happy and fullfilled life together. Keep well and be happy. All my love, Julia Nola.
30th September 2006

Hi from Oz
Thanx for the updates des. It amazes me how you've now made this place your home with all its hardships, i couldn't do it. Am happy for you and elvis that yous have found that special love that seems to conquer all. Good on you, take care. xx

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb