Back to Cusco - much better this time


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
November 7th 2007
Published: November 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We were left to go around Machu Picchu by ourselves and Nik and I decided to chill out in a nice peaceful spot. Then we took the long walk home which wasnt as bad as it was all down hill.

Felt quite bad because we had tipped everyone else on the trip such as the cook and the horsemen (or should I say children) but the guide didnt hang around at the end so no one tipped him. I think some people were not going to anyway because they were annoyed at the way he dealt with the situation with stav (the israeli guy), plus he was a pointless guide. We were dreading the tips anyway after the demands for large tips on the galapagos, but everyone on our tour was roughly on the same budget as us so it was more reasonable.

Anyway, I got over not tipping the guide quickly. We had some lunch then we all got the train back to Cusco.

It was kees (dutchmans) birthday on the 31st so he asked if we wanted to hang around in cusco to go but we had already booked our ticket to puno that night so thought we wouldnt be able to. However, we got back and asked Miriom (our hostel manager and tour agent) if she could change our ticket for the 1st nov instead. So she did.

Had an early one that night as we were absolutely shattered. We also didnt do much the next day apart from I did some shopping. Nik wasnt feeling well that night so didnt feel like coming out to meet everyone so I went on my own. I will add that I did offer to stay with Nik but she understandably prefered me to leave her in peace as I was in a happy annoying mood.

I got a taxi to the hostel and went to the bar where I was meeting everyone, had a really good night and went to a club as well. Got home around 6am I think.

Next day was halloween and Kees birthday!!!

Nik and I went and bought the most hideous masks we could find , which you will see in Niks photos. Met everyone at the hostel bar again and it was so much fun. We bought Kees a cake and he blew out his candles. Everyone got really drunk (I think) or I know we were. Really good night again. I went home at around 6am and Nik came in at around 9am. It really does party all night in Cusco. Had a great night, danced loads and drank loads - need I say more.

The next day was our final day in Cusco. Nik crawled out of bed at about 7pm but goody me got up earlier and went shopping and uploaded photos (boring).

Met with some of the people for our last supper and didnt realise the time so had to hurry back to our hostel at 10.05pm to grab our backpacks and pay etc. to get to our bus for 10.30pm.

No worries, we made it in plenty of time........



Advertisement



Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.2kb