Cusco, Peru (Nov. 1 - Nov. 8, 2017)


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
November 1st 2017
Published: January 17th 2021
Edit Blog Post



I arrived to Cusco early in the morning. I walked for a bit with the Czech couples I'd met the night before. Eventually, we parted ways. I found my hostel and checked in and took a nap. I walked around the city after I woke up from my nap. Found some Lechon and bought it. It was good, but could use a little more salt. I met some people at the hostel. A Chilean guy, who was also an engineer. He told me he was going to do a trek to Machu Picchu. Only, he was going to take a different route. It seemed a lot harder to me. Also unnecessary. I also met a guy from mainland China. He does photography for a living. He advised me that "taking a good picture is about the right timing." He said he has a Facebook account, but can't use it back home. We met a young German dude. He'd taken the bus from Lima to Cusco and sweared that he wouldn't do that again. We hung out at the hostel, but nothing more beyond that. I was still a little numbed from what happened at the beginning of my trip. I spent a couple of days hanging out around Cusco. Checking out museums and researching how to get to Machu Picchu on a budget.

First, I needed to get a permit. Once I'd obtained the permit, I booked the morning bus from Cusco to Hydroelectrica. It was a beautiful ride thru the countryside of Peru. We stopped for lunch near the river. I saw the Chinese guy from the hostel. We greeted each other and continued on with our journey. Once the bus dropped us off at the Hydroelectrica train station, I walked along the railroad to Aguas Calientes, where I will be spending the night. It was a 6 miles (10km) hike. It was not too bad since I'd left my big backpack at the hostel. I ran into the Chinese guy, as well as the German guy in Aguas Calientes. I believe they were apart of a tour group, so I simply paid them my regards and was on my way. I had Chifa (Chinese & Peruvian mix) food that night. The guesthouse I stayed at was very quiet. It reek of mildew due to the humidity of the area. I went to bed early. The next day will be a long an exhausting day...

I woke up around 5am and headed out to Machu Picchu.





[
]


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.05s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb