A day at leisure in Cusco


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco
September 19th 2018
Published: October 1st 2018
Edit Blog Post

At last a day off but I still wake up by 5:30, with a snuffly nose and a bit of a cold. We spend the day cruising around this pretty city, going to the San Pedro market where the locals shop for for everything from pigs’ heads to flowers and clothes. It is colourful, clean and not too busy. We don’t try anything at the food court but head back to the chocolate museum for a hot chocolate and chocolate brownie for lunch. Needless to say we go through a few markets to get there.

We also discover a museum (exhibition really) for a textile artist called Maximo Laura who does the most amazing weaving with wonderfully vibrant colours. These large wall hangings are about 1.5m by 3m and cost up to 20k USD. What a shame I don’t have room in my bag (or wallet) for one or two. However I do fall in love with them and my next project is starting to take form in my head.

Later in the afternoon Mike takes a few of us to a very good store for alpaca products but I see nothing I love madly so don’t buy. However the silver manufacturer across the road is a different story. There are three rooms of beautiful silver and gold works in what looks like a private home. Linda and I both succumb and buy ourselves a bracelet each.

We toddle home via one of the many Inca museums, all of which are reputed to be very good. This one told the history of Machu Picchu very well with some good interactive stuff. Recreation of photos and so on.

An early night for me to try and shake the sniffles and to get ready for the big bus trip to Puno tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb