Photos from Cuzco as promised


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
March 15th 2011
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We were on our way back to the hotel from a walk around the main square (In South America, it´s usually called the Plaza de Armas) and market whe I spotted this internet cafe, so am uploading photos. We appreciate receiveing all of your comments, especially today. With the three of us at less than 100% due to altitude sickness, we tend to think about home, so comments and updates are welcome. Special thank you to Kristin, who gave me my first update from work. I have deliberately unplugged for the term of this trip, but it´s comforting to know that things are going okay despite the fact that I abandoned station for 1/4 of a year.

Today we ate lunch in a restaurant on the second floor of a building overlooking the Plaza de Armas. When we entered, I noted the distinctive smell of a backed up woodstove. Didn´t think much of it except to conclude that they must be heating the building with wood (refreshingly cool here - we´ve gone to long pants, sweaters and windbreakers). But later I walked by the kitchen and spotted a massive wood fired oven. It became patently obvious that I chose poorly
Coca Leaf plugsCoca Leaf plugsCoca Leaf plugs

When is Cuzco... I´m told that it´s very commonly used even by locals. Not sure where this puts me in the war on drugs.
by not ordering the pizza. During the meal a couple of guys playing string instruments and pan flutes came in and entertained. They were the real deal.

This really is a neat city to visit just for the streetlife. Volkswagen Beetles sharing the brick roads with tourist vans, motorcycles, and all kinds of specific use bicycles. The most unique bike was the portable juice making station we saw this morning, complete with blender.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Plaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas
Plaza de Armas

The view from our smoky restaurant
Fuel delivery bicycleFuel delivery bicycle
Fuel delivery bicycle

This guy is in the hydrocarbon business, but is clearly hedging his bets. When gas goes to $5 per liter, he will slaughter the competition. Note the hazardous material decal on the barrel.


15th March 2011

Peru-sing your blog
Sorry to hear that you are all feeling the effects of the altitude. Some friends have recommended Diamox for altitude sickness (but I have had no experience with it). On the plus side, once you do adapt to the altitude (which I hope will happen soon) you will feel like Olympic athletes when you return to places closer to sea level. We have found living in Calgary (a paltry 1000 ft above sea level) that when we go visit my sister in San Francisco, we are able (even without being super fit) to easily climb all those hills. Hope you all feel better. In the meantime, still enjoying the photos which are great. Cheers. Maria
15th March 2011

Dear Smith's
Great photos! Seems you are over the worst of climate change effects. Hope you enjoy Cusco. I'm off to the Prairie Theater Exchange. Loaads of love.
16th March 2011

Just caught up on about 2 weeks worth of you trip. I love reading about your adventures! Sounds like you are making the most of your trip. Pauline, I was surprized to read that you were enjoying the reader-device thingy from your mother. I would have pegged you for a purist. I guess I will have to stop being such a hard-liner (I have threatened to disown friends for buying them) and give it a try. I supposed they would come in handy for travelling! Anyway, just wanted to say Hi! Take care, Dawn
16th March 2011

Reading Purist
Hello Dawn-so nice to hear from you. To tell you the truth, I wasn´t sure how I would feel about an e-reader. We are traveling light and did not want to bring a pile of books with us. So for traveling, especially over a long period of time, it has worked well. The battery lasts a long time and when it needs recharging, it can be done in any country without a converter. The down side is it is really only good for one person as we are all usually reading at the same time. The second thing is that digital books are not that much cheaper than print copies and unless you are going to lend out your e-reader, you can´t share them. So that isn´t very cost effective. I can still see using it once we return home, but I know for sure we will continue to visit our public library in person. I don´t know how big of a reader you are but I just finished two books from the e-reader which were both excellent: Sarah´s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay and Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda. I particularly loved Secret Daughter. Hope all is going well for you in Thompson. What are your plans for spring break? Pauline
16th March 2011

living
I was just trying to imagine how it has been living with your "home" on your back. and keeping up with items management. thinking of you. Since I cannot send you photos I thought I would describe how it is here yetserday In winnipeg it was sunny we still have lots of snow so it felt like those beautiful spring days in Thompson when the sun is so bright and reflects off the snow,...however my white car is caked with melting salty grit... but spring is coming Winnipegers are complaining about how long the winter has been, I on the other hand, am feeling right at home. take care you three Love D
19th March 2011

Hello
My computer died - es muerto, verdad! So, I'm catching up with you at my neighbour's computer. Yahoo hid your posts away in spam!! I thought maybe you were lost for a minute. I sure wish that I could be there too. Except for the altitude sickness, I had it at much lower altitudes. What a weird feeling it is, especially when trying to walk in a hilly town. I was told to drink lots of chammomle tea (which I wasn't fond of) - but it sure helped and because it made me feel better, I started to like it a lot. They may call it Te de Manzanillo (a)? I just listened to a podcast (History of the World in 100 Objects) about the Llama and how, to the Inca's, it was everything - used for milk, wool, transportation, food. I hope you are feeling better by now. You will be amazed by the extra energy you will have when you get down to sea level again. You will feel like you are walking on springs from all the extra red blood cells you'll have. Hasta la proxima carta.
19th March 2011

I wished I could have heard the musicians too. Bet that was lovely. The scenery is spectacular, really.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb