Cusco!


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
February 4th 2008
Published: February 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mountains of CuscoMountains of CuscoMountains of Cusco

The surrounding mountains around Cusco are beautiful.
Hola!

The 26 hour bus ride to Cusco was at times miserable, and at times more miserable. I got to see plenty of the country side and absorb a sense of the Peruvian landscape, but a bus crossing over a mountainous landscape using excruciatingly twisty, curvy roads at night does not sit well with my stomach. Anyways it was part of the experience and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have over 45 hours of busing ahead of me anyway.

The Cusqueñan landscape is marvelous. I´ve seen my share of mountains in my lifetime, but the majestic hills populated with Peruvian houses, farms and villages is a truly unique sight. I often reflect upon the words of a good friend, something along the lines of "Though I will see plenty of towns and ports unseen, the hope in the voyage lies in returning with new eyes."

We came in the middle of a small Carnival celebration, where children (and grown ups) wage water wars with spray foam, water ballons, and super-soakers. Needless to say, we were immediately caught in the line of fire when we arrived, check out the videos.

Tomorrow at 4:30 am, Karen and I depart
CuscoCuscoCusco

One of the most charming and beautiful cities I have ever seen.
for a 5 day, 4 night trek to Machu Picchu. It´s the rainy season and there's an ascent of over 4,500 feet (highest point more than 15,000 ft). I say with a bit of regret that I have a tendency to chase after extremely difficult and rewarding journeys. This one should be totally above our heads. It should be loads of fun.

jw




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Casualty of WarCasualty of War
Casualty of War

I was not spared in the Carnival water wars.


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb