Back from Death's Door


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 26th 2005
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

And it wasn´t a pretty sight...

But luckily in Peru you don´t need a prescription for Cipro, or
anything else for that matter. And my host dad set me right up with
it. I´m not going to lie, it was bad, really bad... And the water was
shut off, so that wasn´t a pretty sight in el baño either. I eat off
the vendors in the street all the time, no problem. The one time I go
to the ¨safe¨ tourist restaurant, they try to kill me!!! However, I
almost made it to the end of my trip without getting sick, which is
very good, I think. Don´t be envious, but I´ve sampled all sorts of
different Gatorade flavors like maracuya, mango, mandarina, etc. And
Campbell´s, forget that, I have homemade chicken broth!

But let me tell you about the soccer game, because that is far more
interesting. So now that you´ve seen the pictures, this is a little
after the fact, but oh well. Our host dad ended up going with us,
which was probably fortunate.
We take a cab over to the area of the stadium. You can only get so
close. You walk down this street that is completely boarded up and
shuttered because the Limeños are delinquent vandals... So we´re
walking with this huge throng of people. And our host dad is asking
one of the million cops guarding the stadium where our section is...

We´re herded into a line behind a rope. But lines don´t really fly
here and everyone just ducks under it and walks down the middle of the
street. Then some sort of announcement is made, and just like they
warn you about, stampede to the gate. This must have happened 4 times.
Each time slightly more terrifying as people push to get into the
lines to get into the stadium. I think I mentioned this was a pretty
major game... Anyway. Kind of funny to see my host dad pushing and
shoving away to get into the game. So we make it and carve out some
seats, because they aren´t assigned...

And you know the rest of the story... I´m sure there are more details,
but the last few days are but a hazy nightmare!!!

On a funny note... Plumbers came to our house today. It seems some
past students from the school complained about the lack of hot water
and they are installing gas heated water, rather than electric at our
house. My roommates and I will miss our little dance with death by
electric shock when showering...

I also forget to mention our little earthquake this morning. I was
lying in my bed, since I¨m too sick to rock the schoolhouse, and my
bed starts jumping. Not cool at all! But funny all the same because no
one seems to really let it bother them...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb