Chicken Little


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cusco » Cusco » Cusco
July 19th 2005
Published: November 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So today I wake up and it´s cloudy out. The Peruaños are in a flutter
because it´s July and in July it´s winter and it´s not cloudy. It´s
not allowed to be cloudy, I mean come on, this is July after all. And
then, all you know what breaks loose... It starts to rain... This
starts a whole other process. People are staring at the sky in shock,
like something bad is about to descend. And everyone is saying, this
can´t be, this is July. It doesn´t rain in July. It just doesn´t rain
in July. And they´re slinking along next to the buildings trying to
not get rained on, because you know why, this is July and it doesn´t
rain in July so the raincoats and umbrellas aren´t out yet. I mean, I
bet if I woke up this morning and it was raining, the grandma wouldn´t
have let me take an umbrella, because it isn´t supposed to rain in
July.

Because you know the other problem with rain, when your house is
outside, you get rained on if you go to the kitchen. And the floor is
wet in the hallway. Let me just say, the electricity wasn´t working in
the kitchen because of the rain. Not a good day to play my game of
shocking myself with my bedside lamp. But the buzz lulls me to
sleep... Or play with the electric switch to turn on the hot water in
the shower...

And another cold shower. But I´ve mastered the act of not actually
showering. I just lean my head back under the water. Since daddykins
has the week off, I think he´s using all the hotwater. I went in one
day after him and there was steam. Actual steam on the mirror. He
isn´t sharing the secret. You pay in increments for hot water. Maybe
your family just pays for the morning or night or afternoon. I haven´t
figured out when we pay for it, I´m not sure if we´ve paid this month
or what the deal is, because I just can´t seem to get it right. And I
don´t mean just a little cold or not warm, but straight out freezing.

And then of course they start talking about snow because it´s below
freezing at night. One word = hotel. I see snow, I´m hot footing it
next door to the hotel that has heat. Today we found a swanky
restaurant with heat. We stayed there for 4.5 hours. We actually were
hot. We were overcome with joy. We hadn´t taken our coats off in days.
I´ll probably have to burn my coat when I get home. I sleep in it, I
eat in it, I study in it, you name it, it´s been done.

Meanwhile my fellow amigos are having stomach problems. So far I´ve
lucked out. Maybe a bit too much... The night before last, after
drinking copious amounts of apple juice I discover that there is no
running water. So then I change my prayer to, please not now, while
there is no water. Sorry if that is too much information. But I found
it pretty funny, as did my roommates!

You might wonder, how on earth is this still the best trip ever? I
can´t quite explain it, but it is. I think, for all the different
things, and sleeping fully clothed with hot water bottles, I love it
and can´t wait to come back...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb