Another Stalker


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Cajamarca » Cajamarca
August 19th 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de ArmasPlaza de ArmasPlaza de Armas

This is where the Spanish executed Atahalpa the last king of the Incas
Day 323 - Monday 18 August

A Peruvian girl had been sat next to me on the bus last night and she hadn´t stopped talking to me. It was obvious she liked me but I'd only just said goodbye to Yolanda a few hours before. However its good to know that my Spanish has returned and thankfully she wasn´t very good looking so I wasn´t tempted. I´d even managed to fiegn sleep for some of the journey to avoid talking to her.

Like me shes also come to explore Cajamarca before taking another bus later tonight. She suggested we hang out together for the day. I tried saying no but she got really offended so I reluctantly agreed. I must admit it was useful having her around so I could sort out my bus ticket tonight, store my bags and negotiate the public transport to all the places I want to visit.

The first stop was some church she wanted to visit. Its a nice old church but I´ve seen loads of them now so it wasn´t anything special. We then moved onto Plaza de Armas. This is the place where the Spanish executed Atahalpa the last Inca
Steps up to Santa Apolonia hillSteps up to Santa Apolonia hillSteps up to Santa Apolonia hill

This is where the Spaniards ambused Atahalpa
king.

After that we climbed the nearby Santa Apolonia hill. This is where Atahalpa was ambushed and captured. The only other place I wanted to visit was the Cuarto de Rescate. This is the room where Atahualpa was held prisoner and a red line on the wall is said to indicate where Atahualpa reached up and drew a mark agreeing to have his subjects fill the room to the line with treasure as a ransom. Unfortunately its a monday the only day the place is closed.

Well I'd seen everything I wanted to see in Cajamarca and its only just turned lunchtime. With my bus not leaving until 10:30 tonight the girl from the bus who had been hanging around me all this time wanted to take me to the Ventanillas de Otusco. A pre-Inca cemetary. God I can´t get rid of this girl. Theres no mummies or skeletons there just niches carved into the rock where they once where. I wasn´t very impressed but I suppose it passed a couple of hours.

After getting lunch she wanted to go to Los Banos del Inca. Yet another hot springs. I didn´t have my shorts with me but
Stone alter on top of Santa Apolonia hillStone alter on top of Santa Apolonia hillStone alter on top of Santa Apolonia hill

Where Atahalpa used to review his subjects on the plaza below
she explained here you go nude. I was about to object, I mean it was only yesterday I was with Yolanda, when she said everybody gets their own private little cubicle. Phew! I might have had some explaining to do already.

Finally she had to leave to catch her bus and I managed to escape. I waited around and caught my bus later that night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb