Thursday


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
September 14th 2006
Published: September 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got to make up my trip to the Wari Ruins and Quinia today.... It was just 4 of us plus Pancho and our driver Alejandro so it was very nice. Diane was sick the same day as me so she went as well and so did Marie Claire (who broke her foot) and David.

We first went to the site of the last Battle of Independence which is called the Battle of Ayacucho. This is where Peru finally won its independence from Spain in 1824. Very cool and fantastic views!

We also went to the town of Quinia which was very lovely. It´s like walking through St. Michaels or Annapolis and have the 4 us be the ONLY tourists. Amazing!

We then went to the Wari Ruins. What fantastic people and such a mystery. In case you are not aware the Wari are PRE Inca and they just disapearred.

Pancho had a bonfire but I elected not to go. The ride is very curvy and somewhat like a roller coaster so I felt a bit queasy. Heatherly and I went over to a bakery and got some cake and Inca Cola and relaxed on the roof.
Cool TraditionCool TraditionCool Tradition

Most of the houses have this church on top with the two vases on each side. One one side is holy water and the other wine.


I also tried to pack and i have a problem. My stuff DOES NOT FIT!! I´m going to need to buy another suitcase


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wari RuinsWari Ruins
Wari Ruins

This is a tomb and they think since these tombs are several levels that the people also lived in the same building.
TunaTuna
Tuna

The landscape totally changed at Wari... It was covered in cactus and these fruit-flower called Tuna are just starting to bloom


15th September 2006

Photo
Love the picture with the rooftop church.
15th September 2006

Hello
Hello Christie, Glad all is going well with you...stay out of that sick bed:)...Thank you so much for sharing your days...it has been very interesting...and makes on thankful for what we have. Keep up the good work. Hugs, Janet
15th September 2006

Beautiful!
Gorgeous place! I'm glad you didn't miss it. About the luggage.... that always happens to me too! I guess Heatherly is doing better - good. Not contagious anymore, I hope. Now for Cuzco! Love, Mom
18th September 2006

Wow!
What beautiful pictures. I completely understand the suitcase problem. Mine always seem to shrink when I go on vacation too! Thanks for all the pictures and information. The kids have really enjoyed the history and pictures also. Take care and Be careful!

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb