Two Weeks = Two Far Away


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
March 7th 2005
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am leaving on March 26th for Ayacucho Peru. I am so excited to meet the other volunteers and start my placement! I can't wait to be completely immersed in another culture. Steve and Maria would be so proud of me because I have been practicing my Spanish in hopes that I will be able to use more than just the adjective Bueno! Every night, I pack in my dreams...yeah, I am excited!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Ayacucho, PeruAyacucho, Peru
Ayacucho, Peru

This aerial view of Ayacucho shows how wonderfully hidden Ayacucho is, and how the people are able to maintain their traditions without being influenced from outside civilizations.
Entering AyacuchoEntering Ayacucho
Entering Ayacucho

This is what I’ll see entering Ayacucho!
Ancient Church in AyacuchoAncient Church in Ayacucho
Ancient Church in Ayacucho

Religion is very important to the people of Ayacucho. The city is filled with ancient churches. I will be in Peru during Semana Santa. Ayacucho boasts the second best festival in the world next to Sevilla, Spain.


7th March 2005

Howdy
Danielle Have fun on your trip! I know that you are going to have a blast, but not as much fun as me this summer at basic. Love, Nate - Nate
14th March 2005

Pura Vida
Okay, so "Pura Vida" is a Costa Rican saying, but I'm sure Peruvians will understand you just fine. I hope your trip is inspiring, amazing, eye-opening, life-changing, and an all-around good time. You deserve the best the world has to offer, and I'm sure Peru will not disappoint. Take it all in, and tell us all about it! love, mk - Maria
9th August 2005

Warning
Watch for a gang called the pirahnus. Reason being is little children will have you chase them around corners and a bunch of older men will be waiting there. Good luck

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb