26th and 27th October


Advertisement
Peru's flag
South America » Peru » Ayacucho
October 27th 2005
Published: October 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Afternoon 26th October

Hi Folks,

No photos again today - just my blurb!!

After updating my diary yesterday, I headed back to base for our lecture on the use of natural remedies in Ayacucho. Had a lukewarm shower (must be my turn for a cold one today) and was lounging on my top bunk afterwards (yet again with a book in my hand) when another storm started. This time it was hailstones like you have never seen (honestly - no exaggeration!!). The majority of the houses in Ayacucho have tin roofs, so the resulting sound was the equivalent of the Fyffes and Drums at the Edinburgh military tattoo!! Had I been able to record it, it could have been used to replace an orchestral percussion section!! Amazing!! Again, rivers in the street etc, but I was safe and sound in homebase.

Our lecturer arrived late due to the rain, but her talk was very interesting. There is a significant amount of reliance on ´healers´ in Aycucho and use of natural products. So much so, that the people here will go to a healer in advance of a qualified medical doctor!! The natural cures used are also widely recognised by the medical profession here.

Some of the more interesting aspects of the discussion included ´midwives´ (mainly the older generation) who are capable of turning breach babies using compression and massage. This significantly reduces the need for caesarian sections!! Healers are also good at dealing with pulled muscles and twisted bones etc.

We were also told about the linkages between natural healing, the ´earth´ or environment, and the gods of nature. The people here believe that if you become ill, it is because you have upset the environmental balance, and you should look to natural cures to remedy the affliction. This is combined with offerings to gods of the earth, and also offerings to the Christian God and Jesus. Effectively a combination of historic belief and Christian belief. Natural healing is indeed a very large part of the culture here. After the lecture we were all given some huayruro beans which ensure continued luck and prosperity. Have put them in my purse, so will let you know if they work!!

After dinner, Vicki and I wandered into town where we had a hot chocolate (delicious) and a pisco sour. I hadn´t slept well the previous night, but had no problems last night. Woke up this morning with my book still open at the page and the covers completely unruffled!! Those of you who have shared a room with me will acknowledge how unusual that is!!

The dynamics of the house will change this weekend. We are losing two of the group we arrived with and another four from other groups (6 in total). We have some new people arrivng this weekend. My room mate Keira leaves Saturday and I get to have a bottom bunk (yeeesssssss!!!).

27 October

Arrived at Wawa Wasi this morning to be greeted by a long tale from Julia. Her house has tin roofs, and the house (including the room used for WW) had been totally flooded. All the toys, drawings, everything!! It had all dried out by this morning, but unfortunately the tree frieze we had been working on looks a little wavy!! No permanent damage though. We were missing Karina today and still no sign of Alberto. I don´t think he´ll be coming back somehow. No sign of baby William today either - maybe that was just a one off!!

We had our breakfast, and the kids were asking if we could work on the frieze, but no, Julia wanted us to vamos (go) to Marruja´s WW next door, where Eileen volunteers. The 2 WWs were together for a full 2 hours - chaos!! It drives both Eileen and I bananas as there is absolutely no structure!!!

From my (very limited) experience, children under 5 appreciate structure and routine. I find it very frustrating that there is no formal structure to my WW. It changes every day. I often have to bite my tongue and remember that I´m volunteering, and not actually in charge. Take today for example - our kids were keen to work on the frieze, and I reckon that would have been better for them instead of the two hours of organised chaos which ensued!! I did manage to treat the combined group how to play ´Traffic Lights´which went down fairly well (thank you Girls Brigade!!!) and Eileen and I kept them amused with bubbles for a while.

I find the same at the CCS house at times. A number of the younger volunteers are out most nights in town and back in the early hours of the morning (this morning it was 5.30am). I have absolutely no problem with this as I have done it myself on occasion (at home I hasten to add although not usually that late!), but they then fail to get up for their work placements the next day, which is surely the whole point of their stay here? Again, I have to bite my tongue and remember my place (I just know some of you are sitting there saying that you thought I was incapable of that!!). Some of the culprits are leaving this weekend, so I´m looking forward to the dynamics of the base changing. Apparently the new arrivals are mostly guys, some in their early 40´s, so hopefully common sense and maturity will prevail!!!

Was thinking that I haven´t really said much in the blog about how I´m coping with things, so here goes.

Not really homesick (it has only been two and a half weeks so far), but it´s amazing how quickly I´ve adjusted to certain things. For example -wearing the same pair of trousers two days in a row; dealing with cold showers; not needing to do my hair (have just been letting it dry naturally and tying it back); not wearing makeup (there is absolutely no point!!); being regularly covered in a combination of snot (and various other things courtesy of WW kids) and dust (from the streets), and adjusting to communal living (although not always very well!!). Fortunately the group I arrived with are great and we can have a moan to each other about it (communal living) when we´re really frustrated!!

There are some things I reckon I will really miss over the next few weeks:

- Daily abuse from my mum (although she still does a pretty good job via weekly calls!!)
- Mum´s attempts at vegetarian dinners (normally courtesy of Linda McArtney!).
- My cats (Chuckie, Smokey and Galway). Miss them now, especially when I´m curled up reading or going to bed (nothing to cuddle!!).
- Church - worshipping with all my friends and playing in the praise band.
- Kids and friends at Girls Brigade. Hope you all have a great time in Glenshee this weekend coming!!
- Sunday afternoons in Beanscene with Alison and Karen. The girly chat, comfy couches, fruit smoothies and the caramel shortcake!
- E-mails from Bernie, Morag and Andrew, bemoaning the fact that we´re having rotten days at work!
- Saturday morning lie ins - mmmmmmmmmmm!!
- Irn Bru - big time!! Inca Kola is good, but not quite the same!!
- Galaxy chocolate - mmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!
- Salt n Vinegar Pringles - have only found ready salted here. Can´t even get cheese and chives flavour!!
- The ´Diary´ in the Glasgow Herald!
- McFly and the rest of my CD collection. I´m reliably informed that McFly´s new song went straight in at No 3 in the charts (yeeeesssss!!).
- My Clio!!

Right at this particular moment I would give my eye teeth for a hot bath, complete with ´Lush´ bath bomb, bar of galaxy, bottle of bud and a good book. The only aspect of that combination currently available is the good book!! Would also love to spend the night in a bed big enough to roll over in without worrying about falling out!!

You´ll note I haven´t mentioned work. Can´t say I´m really missing it much apart from the banter with the guys in the team. Just think, when I get back you probably won´t be able to shut me up for a month!! Instead of the usual "Only x days to go until my next holiday" (Simon, I know how much you appreciate that one!), it will be "When I was in Peru........"!!!!! Something for you all to look forward to!

There are a few things I definitely don´t miss:

- Dreich Scottish weather (glorious hot sunshine here at the moment - until the next storm that is!!).
- The routine of getting up for work!
- Constantly ringing phones (at work and home).
- Having my mobile switched on all the time!
- Television (although I rarely pay any attention to it anyway!)
- Cleaning out the cat box (sure you´re doing a grand job Fiona!) and the early morning alarm call from my three starving animals!!

Anyway - enough of that!! Guess the above goes to show I could adjust to life here fairly easily.

Off into town now to see what I can find in the way of Halloween decorations. They celebrate All Saints Day here 1 November, and then a local holiday for Day of the Dead on 2nd. More about those after they happen!

As a parting shot - a few responses to some of the comments. They are great and much appreciated!!

Think the incident with the door was more to keep me in than the Peruvians out. They´re probably worried about supplies of Pisco Sour now that I´ve developed a taste for it!!

Mr McDonald - thanks for the comment re my driving. Would have expected that to come from George though, as he was the one who suffered the bump on the head on that bumpy road.

Can confirm that Vicki didn´t fall into bed after the Pisco Sour. I shouldn´t have generalised - they probably only have that effect on me!!

Esther and Alison - thanks for your lovely comments. Don´t know if I´d say I´m great with kids though. Sometimes I really have to wing it with them and there have been a few disasters when I´m on toilet rounds (far too graphic for inclusion in the blog!!).

Anyway - take care and keep in touch.

Lesley x




Advertisement



27th October 2005

your diary
glad to hear your having a great time.thanks for my birthday messages - suprised you can remember what day it is -what with your early mornings(yes she is a sight to behold in the mornings)and your busy days. take care love karenx
28th October 2005

Greetings from the West Coast
Hey Lesley!!! Seems like your having yourself a bit of an adventure in Peru. Excellent pictures. Enjoy as much as you can and look me up if you are ever in the San Francisco bay area.

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb